People are free to manage their accounts and disassociate from whomever they want.

in #social2 years ago

image.png

What's broadcasting widespread ignorance and dishonesty about free speech are the attacks on people who defend free speech for blocking certain people on Twitter or lashing back at certain people.

I haven't had to block or unfriend anybody on Twitter yet. Free speech doesn't mean that you have a positive obligation to subject yourself to abuse. I have a pretty high tolerance for abuse; but, sometimes I've needed to drop people because they've intentionally tried to get a rise out of me just so they could report me and get my account blocked. I've encountered people who have been abusive completely useless when it comes to defending the other side who wouldn't leave me alone. I've had people who I've dropped who spent the last ten years just being absolute dickholes.

Elon Musk and Jordan Peterson may be more liberal with the block key than I am. They also have a lot more people following them. Peterson has mental health issues which I lack; and, I think it's rather gross to imply that Jordan Peterson doesn't really believe in free speech unless he lets the online mob push him to the brink of suicide.

In all of my years talking about free speech, I don't recall ever saying anything to that effect. I generally think that it's a good idea to engage in a culture of liberal science, grow a thick skin, and subject your most cherished beliefs to ridicule. Still, it would be intellectually vacuous for me to go so far as to tell people what their limits should be. It's even more intellectually vacuous for the defenders of online censorship to try to pull this on people who believe in free speech and claim that they're hypocritics if they don't have personal limits to their patience.

The free speech issue isn't about demanding that people never block other people. The issue is about the idea that you can prevent other people from deciding for themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72