I tried to flirt with mIRC to see how life was before Facebook and Tinder

in #social7 years ago

I tried to flirt with mIRC to see how life was before Facebook and Tinder
)

"Asl pls": This was the opener with which the girls opened their hearts to the boys.

I am 20 years old and every time I come to a beer, it's a nostalgic story to tell about how great it was to meet people through mIRC chat programs, even though you did not have pictures or data about them , but just a nickname. That the young people who hang on Facebook or Tinder do not know how it is.

Well, I guess. When the miRC was still not in the late 1990s and early 2000s, my concern was to solve equations with an unknown, not hang an unknown chatter. While boys and girls were setting out at the confectionery or in the park on this thing, I was trying to set up play and mother moments.

I do not know how you could keep a conversation with someone without sending you pictures, songs or creatures. Not to say without doing stalker documentation before you deal with the man.

How did I not get the times when the basic opener was "asl pls", which has the translation "age, sex, location, please" (for those like me who did not know what it means), it seems bizarre that that time people even went to the meeting without knowing what the other would look like.

However, I have seen that it's fashionable to explore the past of our everyday gadgets through campaigns such as Vodafone for 20 years, so I thought I'd be teleporting into the mundane world of mIRC, this prehistoric Tinder. And, to my surprise, he had already teleported in 2017.

Well, the first natural question was first: "Ok, ok, but does anyone use mIRC?" I installed my program and I saw the white desert, all the channels like that were deserted for a long time. although the world no longer enters the application itself, they are on all sorts of IRC channels. Some more populated, others held in five inches.

Once in, I was picked up by the same familiar annoying sound I knew from Yahoo Messenger. The one who tells you when someone is online or offline. The same happens when someone comes in or receives a message.1489134673525-adina-conversatie-1.jpg

For a few minutes I just stayed and I analyzed how I should use the application. I finally caught up, so I started to attack the prey.

I was trained by veterans in the hang-ups on mIRC, so I used the first "asl pls" as a la carte approach. Unfortunately, the veterans' knowledge has been a bit resurrected since 2000, so it's not the one you want try it now, so I've updated the communication with some more sophisticated techniques.

I admit, this environment was not good at all. Not a status from which to start, not a picture, not a favorite singer of both. Nada, boss. Inspiration zero.

As evidence, the so-called conversations ended quickly, or they did not happen at all, for dozens of messages did not even answer me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32