Hello Facebook, meet Steemit!

in #social7 years ago (edited)

Hello Facebook, meet Steemit.

So earlier this year, when I joined steemit, I tried to invite people to be part of the community. The response was what I expected. Nobody seemed to know what steemit was, and they all shrugged it off as another scam or scheme.

Recently (thanks to you guys!) I hit the jackpot with a post I made. I then posted my earnings online with the hashtag #steemit and #bitcoin.

045895F0-6F81-4EE3-9D1C-760AA8921EAD.png

The response was overwhelming. People commented on the post asking me how to join steemit and how they can earn, too. Some were also asking me about bitcoin and how to invest in it. The rise of bitcoin stirred things up a lot, and people want in on it.

So I began replying to their comments and answering their questions. Here are some observations I’ve made as I went through the process of introducing Steemit to people.

1.) Many of them are genuinely interested.

A lot of the people I’ve chatted up seem to take an interest into steemit, and a number of them have actually signed up! (You’ll hear from them really soon!) I reminded them that being in Steemit is not a one-time-big-time deal, which means that one has to be patient in reaping what he/she sows. When I started steeming, I was lucky enough to have friends like @deveerei who guided me through the process and the nitty gritty. I’m also thankful to the steemit community for being so patient and welcoming.

2.) A number of them were only intersted in Bitcoin at first.

This is very much understandable because Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency are all the rage now! But a number of those who inquired were more interested in investing money in bitcoin rather than earning them. When I told them that the site is meant for blogging, a number of them turned away and just said ‘thanks!’. I don’t blame them. In my country, blogging seems like a difficult task which only those with a good grasp of the English language can do. This is something I’d like to dispel. Anyone from anywhere can write. It’s sharing the experience that matters, after all.

3.) A number think that Steemit = easy money.

Being on Steemit for months, I could say that earning is never easy. You need to create quality content, and also build a network of people who appreciate your work. You also need to take notice of others’ works as well- for inspiration and to help out! It’s taxing work, but is very much worth it.

4.) A number of them are in a hurry to earn.

The newer ones get easily frustrated because their posts get little attention or rarely get voted on. I keep on telling them to carry on and keep on pushing. Another great thing is that we have a steem support group and group chat to help out the new ones. We will keep on encouraging them to write and post content as well!

5.) The community goes a long way.

As I’ve said earlier, having a support group really helps in encouraging and informing people who are part or wish to be part of the community. In Filipino, we call this ‘Bayanihan’, when people always have your back. We hope to see more new faces in the community soon and I’m very thankful to those who’ve helped me althroughout!

Generally, the response has been great! People seem to be more interested in Steemit, and I’m very excited for them as well! Being on Steemit is one of the best things I’ve done! :) cheers Steemians!

Sort:  

excellent strategy :)

Oh the nitty gritty of steemit!

We will survive! Haha :)

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Filipinos are used to seeing multi-level marketing schemes promising quick cash. Give it a few months and you'll find most of them regretting joining these schemes. That's probably why most of us isn't as interested as people in other countries because we're very used to seeing scams.

@soylent1 this is true. Unfortunately. It’s the get rich easy mindset.

Good job!

Hi, Adeva! Thank you for inviting me here!
I am looking forward in learning more from you and the others. Cheers!

Hey @daniel-krey! Welcome to steemit! Have a great run! :D

hi....

This is really Great....what a motivational one you got here,this keeps me pestering hard...i have followed you and I would appreciate a follow back.

Followed back! Thank you for the follow @seanmalex! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49