You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media Cultures: Steemit, Facebook, and Change Over Time

in #social-media8 years ago

Interestingly, @dan and @ned originally conceived Steemit to be a platform for asking questions like that you posed on FB and, more importantly, for receiving accurate (as determined by upvotes) answers. Only later did it evolve into a complete social media platform. So, personally, I would welcome that type of content here as well.

Sort:  

Very interesting! I'm not sure if I made it clear in the video, but I think once the friends list functionality gets built out with notifications, I could see it working at least as well here as it did on Facebook (assuming enough friends and family join Steemit). I could also see a Quora clone or skin for the blockchain being built which would better facilitate this type of interaction. The idea of a reward based system for providing accurate answers sounds fantastic, but would probably only work if the people rewarding the answers 1) have accurate knowledge of the topic and 2) have enough SP to actually give out meaningful rewards. As the VESTs get more distributed and the user base grows, I could definitely see this becoming a thing. Thanks Sean!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65343.70
ETH 3384.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18