Pay it forward - another thought experiment

in #social-experiment7 years ago (edited)

image.png

I have always enjoyed the concept of 'pay it forward' that became a popular movement especially after the movie of the same name. It actually has a pretty impressive cast, and you can find out more from the imdb site (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0223897/).

The idea that instead of "paying a favor not back, but forward--repaying good deeds not with payback, but with new good deeds done to three new people" that the young Haley Joel Osment came up with is something that I can identify with lots of people here in the Steem community.

I think most here think that it requires a lot of SP or SBD to make a difference here, but what the movie illustrates is that even the smallest kind deeds can result in changes not just in the person who receives or passes on the favor, but create a ripple effect that can have unexpected/surprising effects to the community.

I want to do my part in contributing to this wonderful community and I know that being new to Steem (and blockchain + cryptocurrency) there is not much in my wallet (as you can see). I have certainly received many kind comments and support from the people here and this is my chance to pay that kindness forward.

image.png

I don't think you need much to start helping people and making a difference, and if we waited until we were rich then we may never get around to helping anyone (as I often see in the real world). So regardless if you are a 'minnow' or a 'whale', I'll split what I have in STEEM DOLLARS to three random users that visit this post. And we'll wait and see what happens as a result :)

Update:

To the three people who upvoted this post, you'll be glad to know that the balance in my wallet increased further since I create this post. Thanks to @rosatravels, @hilltopjincr7 and @jonnysumo, you'll each be receiving my little bit of SBD that I am paying forward to the community.

The good thing about not having too much in my account is that there isn't too much to give away, although I was quite surprised at just how much my balance had increased since my last post, so it was still a hit on my wallet :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43