You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking With #Socalsteemit: East Fork Cleanup

in #socalsteemit7 years ago

Awesome hiking group! Such a beautiful waterfall
with the moss and all. Really a cool thing to haul
out trash! It's sad trash has to be hauled out.
Now ancient discarded items are pretty neat,
before the age of plastic and what nots.

Creek crossings are my favorite! Was the water
real cold? The third photo from the bottom with
the yucca crown around your head is just so
beautiful and you also :-)

Wish I could join you! Happy trails!
Not sure I've asked, what breed is Brisket?

Sort:  

Hi there @shasta 😻

Even though I knew we were going to this waterfall and had seen images of it, nothing prepares you for the awe and wonder when you scramble up to it in person.

It is funny how trash from yesteryear is interesting, but new trash is yuck, isn't it? In all mining boom and bust regions, people just drop their stuff and ditch it! This area is still constantly prospected, and the transition to plastic waste in our modern age is sadly evident. We did see some ruins from last century, however. Gulay took a pic of this fireplace suspended above the river:
![17202.jpeg()

Oh yes, that water is cold! To me, though, once wet, it is no big deal to dive in again.

Wish we could hike together too, I think it will happen some day, I don't know why.

Brisket is a rescue so we aren't sure, but he has almost every trait of a Dutch Shepherd minus standup ears. The Dutch Shepherd club on facecrack accepted him as one of their own when I shared pics. He is different from every other dog I have ever known, he has a military instinct!

Blessings to you and yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62214.82
ETH 2429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68