Killing it on the new friend thing - SO CAL Steemit Meet Up ROUND 2

in #socalsteemit6 years ago

Guys, this might be a new record for me. TWO social gatherings in a week! :D

I want to give a big shout out to @mariannewest for coordinating this week's meet up. Check her and her awesome sign out!

mariannesteem.jpeg

So, here are the details:

We met in Old Town, San Diego - it was my first time there. Pretty cute, although very...touristy. Glad I saw it, but probably wont need to visit again, lol.

Still operating like NYers, @nutinbutdatruth and I showed up promptly at 2pm. Old habits die hard. Anyone know where to get a watch that tells SoCal time? (Id say it constantly runs about 25-40 minutes behind the normal clock...)

Anyways, I put away my phone and before I knew it, the table was full and we were surrounded by Steemers! As with last week, it was a very comfortable atmosphere. Friendly faces, all interested in actually getting to know YOU. And while we did of course trade @names , I'd like to think that we were all there to interact and make friends with each other - NOT just another networking event "ill follow you, if you follow me" shit. Yeah, I know - we all want to make money, but so far, I haven't felt like I usually do at gathers based off social media. Oh wait. I don't go to those things, but I imagine they'd be a lot of fakeness and pretending at them.

And so, you can imagine my delight in chatting with @thisgirl! Seems we are on the exact same page when it comes to crypto and blogging in general. Claudia - I hear you, sister! I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't really "get" it, but I have FOMO. Hopefully at one of the next meet-ups, we can have some big fish tell us what we're doing wrong and how to fix it (without spending hours at the computer hehe).

Another awesome thing that happened - three new steem friends from Surinam and Curacao! Seriously. How cool is that? Coincidentally in town for another conference, and the timing worked out beautifully.

internationalsteem.jpg

GROUP SHOT! With everyone's @names, just in case you were only there for the promotion to make money. Its cool, I still like you. No judgement, unless you dont upvote me once you hit the whale status. HAHA.

steemitmeetup2.jpg

From left to right: group to the left: @mattlovell @dawg-boy @creationofcare
back row: @citizenzero @bxlphabet @jeanlucsr @gvkanten @dennisauburn
middle row: @marctwang @eyedreemit @mariannewest @(it is Jill-joy, we don't know her steemit name yet) @madpotters @thisgirl
front: @csusbgeochem1 @nutinbutdatruth

I'm also ecstatic to report that a few of us have found a common bond in hiking, and have already started planning two upcoming trips. @creationofcare @mattlovell @derekrichardson @nutinbutdatruth are in and anyone is welcome to join us! We're making plans on the Discord channel, so if you haven't checked it out yet, then fine, we dont want you to come, anyways. LOL Just kidding. Here's the link below - just click on the bear. Come chat!
Til Next Time! Happy Potting,
xo, Christie

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

#steemitmeetup #sandiego #socalsteemit #makenewfriends #nature #gathering

Sort:  

Yay that's so cool. I gotta make one of these. :)

YES!!! its a lot of fun. definitely come to the next one!

You are becoming a social animal! Who knew? Nice summation. See you guys on the 31st.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58