SPRING HARP FEST

in #socalsteemit7 years ago

Last Saturday was the 19th annual Spring Harp Fest in La Mesa. I hadn't gone for a couple of years, but I have been to several. They are always very cool and when it is over, I always wish it had lasted longer. It's a fund raising effort and they buy harmonicas for schools and give lessons. All performances are volunteer.
Blues seems to be for older people - those of us who have lived and know what the blues is all about. Well - there were a lot of older guys playing.

Imgur

It's always held in Harry Griffen Park. The lush green behind the stage is another section of the park. The seating is in a bowl in the hill. Some with concrete abutments, then moving on to just lawn. At the top were some vendors and sodas. There were a couple of food trucks up on the hill behind the stage.

Imgur

All the musicians were very good, but these guys were great!

Imgur

The music started at 10. Around 1:00 they had a harmonica contest. These guys, and two women, were lined up to compete. There were about 25 competitors, With some great players. The long-haired hipster in the blue shirt and shades won. I thought he was the best and deserved it.

Imgur

So then, next year when it comes around, I'll be sure to remind everyone.
Oh, entrance is free, but you can buy a $10 raffle ticket that goes to the cause. No alcohol is sold there, but people brought their own. And... there is always beautiful weather.

Imgur

Sort:  

Looks like a great turn out! So glad that you and the good weather showed up. PS I love the blues- Must be my age.

It's not the age - it's the wisdom learned. Well, that's what I tell myself. :-))

pretty cool venue, looked like a fun day! Did you bring your own beverage?

Nah, just bought a Coke. I had some, but after sitting in the sun for awhile, it wasn't cold and not a good place/time to start. :-)) The venue is fun. People get up and dance. Couple of crazy ladies who come every year. Typical SoCal.

So bummed we missed it. Must set reminder for next year! I want to be one of the crazy ladies that dances.

Seems like a bluesy event, indeed. I'm glad the entertainment and scenery was far and above everything you expected. Thanks so much for sharing. And reminding A Girl, I need to get out more..lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68