Outdoor Nautical "buoy" chandelier from junk

in #socalsteemit6 years ago

This is a lamp I made to light up my patio space from above. I made it out of a discarded Ikea floor lamp that I pulled out of a trashcan, a piece of old tuna net, and an ancient block with snatch hook that is likely scrap from the old San Diego Hardware fire.



The Block is pretty rotten but looks great like this, the net I cut from a torn piecs of scrap netting I have been dragging around for years. I also had to replace the electrical cable for the light, but i used the cable from a broken vacuum cleaner that went into the recycling. The bulb is 120VAC, but running an LED that pulls 8 watts. It's a nice warm white glow, not too bright for cocktails on the patio. I spent no money on this project, and have since adjusted the globe to be more straight .

Here is an image of the lamp with the net cover. I may double up the net as I love the effect. The garden space itself is going to get a lot of work, removing the hedges and going to plant flowering plants and Mexican feather grass, and also rip out that wretched Brazilian Pepper tree. The goal will be to make it less boxy, more soft and inviting.

Thanks for coming along!

All imagery by @dawg-boy via Iphone 8 and post process with the GIMP.

If you enjoy my original content, please upvote, resteem, and follow me @dawg-boy

#socalsteemit is building and supporting the Steem platform community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us@SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Great use of old scrap mate :)

such a cool lamp, i love it! also - what is that big root looking thing on the board right underneath? looks like a staghorn fern plant thing?

That is a 30++ year old staghorn fern that I am nursing back to health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13