Sunflower Harvest

20190731_094603.jpg

This Mammoth Sunflower towered over the garden for months, drawing delightful Yellow-Green Vireo birds all spring. In July, I finally cut it down to try to harvest its fat, stripey seeds.

Vireos visit

20190731_113426.jpg

20190731_115155.jpg

After stripping the heads and sorting, I washed the seeds in a colander.

20190731_142142.jpg

This was an extremely tedious task, as the seed head had also hosted insects who burrowed into the hulls. Many seeds were lost to those little buggers, oh well.

I managed to glean about 4 cups of seeds. At this point, I became tired of dealing with them, so I simply spread them out to dry, and put them in the pantry.

Maybe I will try roasting them or perhaps attempt to shell them for baked goods.

Maybe I will plant them.

20190731_100724.jpg

Have a great day!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

How many flowers the mammoth sunflower can has on 1 tree? I always like sunflowers.. but never succeed to grow one till ready to harvest.

They do seem to take forever, don't they? The Mammoths I harvested here only had one dinner plate sized flower each. But from the same seed packet came this freak of nature:
20190705_184855.jpg

Whoooaaa... it's amazing! One dinner plate size and many saucer bowls😁 wondering what makes it different😯 I think this is the same mammoth type, right?

Uhmm.. even the seeds of the same flower not always the same, it's just amazing

It blows my mind! We called this one the Fractal Flower because each flower stalk split into a mini me. Cheers

Congratulations @creationofcare! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2500 comments. Your next target is to reach 3000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58