San Diego #Socalsteemit Meetup

image-3~2.jpg Photo by @CSUSBGeochem

Steemit: It's a place to meet old friends and to make new ones. Steemit meetups are an opportunity to turn upvotes into warm, welcoming hugs!

We really loved getting to know folks last week at the meetup in Riverside, so we braved the long drive to Old Town, San Diego to see them again.

20180304_132040.jpg A crash in Temecula delayed transport for several of us. No problem, Steem On!

A good-sized group was assembled in the beautiful grassy plaza. I was overjoyed that my old brother-from-another-mother @dawg-boy could attend.

20180304_152742.jpg @Dawg-boy and me

20180304_152711.jpg

I really enjoyed how everyone introduced themselves and talked about why they were in Steemit. How exciting, to meet bloggers in person after following them online for months, as well as to have an envoy from Surinam join the group. Steemit connects positive minded folks around the world.

20180304_152717.jpg

Each introduction spurred vital side conversations and brainstorming about how to meet our crypto goals and have the most fun possible on the platform.

20180304_152720.jpg

It's so easy to make new friends in such a laid back environment with fresh fruit and scones for refreshment. (Thanks to whoever brought those!)

20180304_154221.jpg Team Surinam tunes in to @mariannewest while @citizenzero and @mattlovell get acquainted.

20180304_154230.jpg Each Steem member gets their 15 minutes of fame.

20180304_154238.jpg Musicians, educators, entrepreneurs, bloggers, makers, hikers, gardeners--so many common interests!

20180304_154248.jpg Making connections to support one another and thrive.

20180304_154255.jpg Thank you so much, @mariannewest for organising this meetup!

When it was time for people to start heading home, @mattlovell and I decided to sit down for a delicious meal with @nutinbutdatruth, @madpotters, and @dawg-boy. I feel like many hiking and camping adventures, and even a monthly garden club, are about to pop off!

20180304_173533.jpg Oops, we cleaned our plates before I thought to snap a restaurant photo!

20180304_152755.jpg Dweezil dawg was our furbaby mascot for the day.

When I joined Steemit, I wasn't really thinking about making new friends IRL, I mostly wanted a secure place to blog and create, and I continue to hope that I can entice all of my #burnerfam over here off of fb. But #Socalsteemit has really broadened my view about this platform.

I believe that our efforts to:

  1. Create quality content
  2. Participate with meaningful engagement

Have augmented our skills to be better speakers and listeners IN PERSON!

Thanks to everyone who is co-creating this phenomenon we call Steemit!

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Sort:  

Hey @creationofcare,
you got an upvote from @Sndbox-Alpha for Philanthropy & Meetups.
Keep being awesome on the steem blockchain!
#Sndbox

Wow thank you very much!

I really enjoyed this meetup, despite the 5+ hours of driving it required, lol.

That's commitment. Or craziness. ;-)

I am so glad you did it, even tho you were tired from the 12 hour Sat.

Thanks for this great reflection of our meetup! Whatever expectations I had for steemit online have been exceeded by the opportunity to connect and learn from real life steemians offline. I agree with these objectives:
-Create quality content
-Participate with meaningful engagement
-Making connections to support one another and thrive

Big thanks to @mariannewest for organizing and to @thisgirl for facilitating our introductions! Thanks also to all those willing to travel to make it happen.

Such an inspiring day. Thank you so much for writing.

you got some great shots! cant wait to start planning :)

Me too! Maybe I will learn to read a calendar hehehhe

Great to see you in the flesh and meet all of these "new folks". I read about something like this in India, and here we did it too!

Good times <3

That is so cool so many people showed up! Glad you guys made it down.

We will look back fondly on these beginnings.

Awesome! Looks like it was lots of fun. Wish I could have made it.

It was nice and we missed you. Looking forward to seeing your trip post though!

what a great write up!!! and wonderful pictures!! where did you end up eating?

Thanks! I think it was called Casa Maria, by the candle shop. Mango chipotle chicken nomz

So, you ended up in Old Town. Good choice :) Can't wait for the next meetup :)

I think maybe we need to plan one in Fallbrook. That is half way for all of us - well, very convenient for our Fallbrook peeps - but we make them scout out a meeting place lol

Awesome meeting you guys, and looking forward to more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76