Chrysolepis Sempervirens, The Bush Chinquapin

in #socalsteemit6 years ago (edited)

20180520_133630.jpg Related to the Beechnut and Chestnut, this Chinquapin has already released its sweet seeds.

Chrysolepsis Sempervirens is a California native plant which graces the higher elevations of my local mountains beginning at about 3,300 feet above sea level.

20180520_113045~2.jpg
Chinquapin bushes cluster at the base of these conifers on Bluff Mesa above Big Bear Lake, CA.

Indigenous tribes like the Serrano Indians (dubbed by Spanish padres for their mountain dwelling lifestyle) used to forage for Chinquapin nuts along with manzanita berries, acorns, and pine nuts. Back east, the tree variety was considered delicious, but the burr made commercial usage difficult. Now, the bounty of Bush Chinquapin goes to feed Black Bear and Deer.

20180520_122814~2.jpgBush Chinquapin lines the Siberia Creek Trail as it switchbacks down from Bluff Mesa.

The evergreen leaves are very hardy, with powdery yellow backs. The plant retains them for about three years before shedding. This past Sunday was the first time I have noticed new growth tips on this shrub.

20180520_133639~2.jpg

20180520_133524~2.jpg

I have read that the plant produces catkins which develop into the seed bearing burrs, and I am on the lookout to see that in person. It can take 2 years for these little chestnuts to mature!

20180329_134316~2.jpg Spent Chinquapin bushes blanket Keller Peak in late winter.

http://www.primitiveways.com/Chinquapin.html informs us that the best time to forage for Chinquapin nuts is late summer to early fall, when the burrs are just beginning to turn brown. The spikes are formidable, so make sure to bring gloves and pruning clippers. The nut can be removed by rolling, prying, or by allowing the burr to dry and open naturally once collected. The fruit is said to be delicious without roasting.

DSCN0501.jpg Photo source http://www.primitiveways.com/Chinquapin.html

When I walk in the San Bernardino Mountains, I go into a reverie. These steep slopes are full of so much bounty. The people who lived here were so peaceful and relaxed, collecting huge harvests freely given by the thick shrubs and trees. They only hunted smaller game, believing that larger animals might contain the souls of reincarnated ancestors. http://www.haramokngna.org/education/yuhaviatam-people-of-the-pines/

Today, the descendants have a small reservation here at the foot of the mountains: the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians, who contribute so much to this city. https://www.sanmanuel-nsn.gov/Culture/Cultural-Overview

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Did you find any good ones to munch on this time?

Nope, evidently I must wait until summertime to get em while the getting's good.

Just about 6 or 8 weeks til berry picking! Maybe the berries will synchronize with the chinquapin.

that would be amazing if they sync up, but if not then thats two future hikes with you :D I cant wait!!

These so remind me of the California buckeye
seeds only much smaller.

Will you be cooking these little nugs up?

What are the clumps on the tall fir tree? They
kind of look like mistletoe :-)

Lovely walk with you, looks so pretty down
there! Only got sorta close ages ago heading
towards Arizona. Like to see more of it! 💕

Funny you should mention California Buckeyes, because I just watched a video on that! Native Technology and wisdom blow me away.

I hope to gather as many Chiquapin-cushions as possible this summer. Now that I know the deets, I am prepared for some wildcrafting action.

Yes indeed, those clumps are mistletoe, and that fir tree is very afflicted. We drove past a parasitic dwarf mistletoe study area on our way to the trailhead, must be a bad infestation I guess.

Arizona is gorgeous!!!

I did a 10 mile traversing Bear Canyon where i took these photos...last Sunday and I am still figuring out how to post it hehe

Much love and blessings!

Watching as I'm typing, might of seen this
several years ago when in Calif. also watched
some on acorns as we had many lol

Wow not sure I ever seen the toe on fir's b4!

Been trying to figure where we want to move
to next lol
Southern Nevada might not be to bad, be in the
middle of all I would like to see :-)

        ❤ 💕

Did you ever try the acorns? Every year I say I will give it a go, but as of yet, I still haven't. It is a labor intensive and time consuming process for sure.

S. Nevada! Wow that would be amazing for you to be so near. Rockhounding abounds. Hugs!

You have almost 1000 followers!!!

Notice all the many bot followers lately
when you do a post and get like 10 at a
time all the same 25's with spammy
copied stuffs,.

I been getting quite a few of those!

Just posted and got 14 more bot accounts
or are these boiler room types of hypes ack lol

I have noticed some obvious bots, it is true. I can't believe I am at 999 followers! My ego purrs.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=creationofcare
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chrysolepis-sempervirens-the-bush-chinquapin


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Wow, thank you!

I’ve been in California all my life and never knew where those little bites that get on your socks cage from.

I’d love to try some of that fruit.

Great post, thank you for sharing.

Hmm, if one of these got in your sock, it would be a big deal cos they are about 3 inches in diameter!

If you find some ripe ones and try them, I hope you post about it! I am dying of curiosity.

So where do the tiny smaller than 1 cm ones come from?

Good question! I have seen a flattened creeping weed in the lawn that makes round burrs that size, they are horrible for longhaired cats! I don't know their name, though. This site has some possibilities http://www.waterwereld.nu/cleaver.php

oh nice, beautiful photography nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68707.59
ETH 3845.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63