Packing for Backpacking trip

in #socalsteemit6 years ago

I have not been backpacking in ages, pre-kids to be exact. The time has come for me to brush off the old boxes of REI swag and gave them a once-over to check for damage and stuff.
The thing about life is you have lots of time when you are young but not a lot of money. At least this is what I have experienced. Alas, I had the time and desire to go backpacking not 5 years prior but lacked funds to buy all the things my heart desired at REI land. Don't get me wrong I seized every opportunity to go backpacking, I just did it with heavy, used and borrowed stuff. I desired the finer/lighter things in backpacking back then and so I got me one of the jerbs to acquire stuff. These days I have acquired money but at a proportionate loss of time. Being a not so smart person I must sacrifice lots of time. Time is money and you only learn this when you lose time not money. So for the last 5 years, my outdoor container has been filled with these new lighter things, always the promise of using the gear soon/someday. Finally, I have made hard plans for a trip next month and plans with friends to come.
The gear is looking good, I found some old black sand from my Hawaii trip. I think I will order a sleeping bag liner to go with my 15-degree sleeping bag. The weather is looking like it will be in the 30s at night and my bag cant be pushed to its thermal limit. The liner will push it into the realm of very comfortable. That being said I am keeping an eye on the weather as the 10-day forecast for our trip is coming up.
IMG_20181124_205102.jpg

  • Going to be breaking in my new pack. I had an old REI huge 80 size pack I found in the trash.

IMG_20181124_205121.jpg

  • Food prepping, due to the fire danger in CA no stoves for heating water, so I will be using my old MREs. I have some very old MREs, not the best but I have had worse. I also checked the sleeping pads for leaks. Fingers crossed the pads are still good in the morning.

IMG_20181124_205225.jpg

  • I am doing a bit of debating, comment on what you think I should do. I have a 5 lb tent or a 2 lb bivy sack. Should I sleep under the stars and save 3 lbs or sleep in the comforts of the tent and wake up dry? If it is forecasted to rain the tent will probably make the cut.

What a great time to get away from the BTC market. Thanks for reading, stay tuned for more backpacking posts.


alaqrab1.gif


SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Would you like to learn more about cryptocurrencies and earn free Bitcoin? Use this referral to start an easy to use Bitcoin wallet and earn Bitcoin. I share my referral rewards back for being active.Thanks.

Sort:  

Good luck with your back packing trip next month. Sounds like a blast :)
P.S. I say sleep under the stars but that's just me

Thanks, I might just sleep under the stars and bring a rain fly. I will wait for the weather report before deciding.

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

Awesome stuff @alaqrab! MRE's are frustrating to order because there are so many types. The whole meals with the water heaters in them tend to be more expensive. I would say take the tent, but if you do its a must you seam seal it and spray seal it so it doesn't leak if a nice rain hits. @derekrichardson taught me that and its been invaluable advice, having a leaking tent is no fun. Last thing i would say is make sure you have a patch for the sleeping pad just encase. I have had one get a hole while out on the trail and that is no fun as well.

Good advice. Yeah I pick up MREs at military surplus stores. If the price is right.

I'm in a third category I guess. I'm old and still have no money. lol.

I can't wait to get out there! This is gonna be super fun. I'm planning to bring a tent.

My friend, you are the richest. I had a seasonal job before and I did more traveling and fun stuff back then, living off of far less.

Looking forward to it as well.

Ya, I like to think I'm getting rich with experiences instead of rich with money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65037.75
ETH 2638.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81