5 years without booze

in #sobriety7 years ago

Five years ago today I took my last drink . 5 years ago today I became an awesome dad . My son was little more than a year old the Last time I drank , now he's 6 . He will never see the person I use to be , he will only see who I am today .

Five years ago today I was an angry self centered animal he'll bent on destruction, the destruction of me and everyone around me . I knew how to drink , but had no idea how to stay sober . Sometimes the booze would have me thrown in jail . I worked everyday and drank every night, well most anyway.

After many attempts at obstaining from the devils nectar , to no avail; it was time to get off the sauce for good . I decided to" check my self in ." Entering treatment was the only option for me at that point .

5 years later I'm the best dad I can be , the best husband I can be and the best person I can be everyday . I have the life I have today because I quit drinking . If I hadn't stopped when I did , there's no telling where my life would be .

I'm am greatful to highest level that; when I reached out for help , so many people were their to help me as soon as I reached . It's been a jeorney for sure , however; it's been a jeorney worth taking . I still have problems in life , but; I don't have to drink over them today 😊

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Happy anniversary and congratulations @stevecoin77
Keep fighting the good fight my Steemit neighbor.

That's fantastic! We are our own worst enemies and to fight our own destructive minds Is one of the hardest things to do. Well done pal :D

Thanks friend , it's been quite the jeorney.

I couldn't begin to Imagine. But you've come out the other side :)

Hey Steve, it's your buddy John from you know where. Glad to hear you are doing well. Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.84
ETH 2398.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56