15 Month Sober, This is my story

in #sober7 years ago

It already started as 14 years old with xtc, alcohol and cannabis.
I grew up with a mother and father who are alcoholics so I did not have the best conditions.
At age 17 I tested amphetamines for the first time, which later in life would be one of my main drug.
When I am 21 years old I had started drinking every day, where at this time I also started with xanax and other benzo.
At age 22-23, it started to go to hell, I got fired from my job and lost my apartment.
I stay homeless for 4 years.
When I am around 26, I daily drank 20-25 50cl 5.2% beer, take amphetamine when money is available, as well as benzo and other painkillers, I took everything I got hold of.
This is where my life begins its change, I'm forced to rehab when my liver was started to completely shutting down.
Therapy 5 days a week for 9 months laid the foundation for the life I live today, where I became whole again.
In rehab I succeeded to get a apartment and a job, i started working the day after I got out. Life could not have been better. But life does not always turn out the way you want.
A couple of months after getting "home" i began to drink a bit on weekends, the amphetamine slowly came back into the picture.
One year after I started working, I became manager in the store where i worked, in order to get started and work as much as possible, I started daily with amphetamines and started with xanor as well as alcohol (AGAIN).
Everything began to collapse again. I worked 200-220 hours each month so you can say that I always where at work.
At the same time, the "Kronofogden" (Swedish Debt collection) took almost all my salary, so I had hardly anything to live after the apartment and other bills were paid.
The debt I had at them was over 250-300k/SEK which I had accumulated over the years in addiction.
I could keep this up for about 1 year, then everything fell again. I got fired from my job, almost lost the apartment when I had not paid the rent.
I continued to take amphetamine xanax and alcohol 3 months after I got fired, Like never before.
Then one day, I decided that now was enough. I have a huge support from my family in this situation and also go for therapy.
I get a job soon after I decided to quit, 3 months later I became a supervisor, which I'm still today.
At the time of writing, I have just settled my debts, got full-time employment and am having a great life!

When I was at Rehab, I really thought I was done with the drugs, but I can say today that I'm really done with all that.
I have lost so many years to addiction, let down so many friends and family. But I had not seen the world like I do today if it was not for those years
When you've lived in the street and have not had anything, you really appreciate everything you have today. My life must have been "let love lead your way"
There is so much evil in this world so spread all the love you can my friends!

Why am I writing this? I'm proud of what I survived and passed through. I also think I can inspire many.
Most people have someone in their family or know someone who has some kind of addiction. I'm a proof that there's really hope!

Excuse my english, it got to be goggle translate, as I could not manage to write this in English entirely on my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53