The phenomenal retelling of an aspiring entrepreneur..

in #sob7 years ago (edited)

The past 2 decades of my life have been comprised of nothing short of adventure, lessons, growth, experience, as well as many other occurrences that have ultimately shaped me into being the individual I am today.
Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 8.30.46 PM.png

Throughout high school, I kept myself occupied with multiple extracurricular activities and clubs, ranging from but not limited to almost everything between Student Council, World Language/Culture Club, Peer Leadership etc. I became a member of the Bio-Medical Engineering and Law and Criminal Justice Academies. Briefly dabbled in sports such as Field Hockey and Lacrosse, all while balancing and striving to maintain a stellar GPA. The orchestrated efforts reaped tremendous blessings, as the hard work translated into an acceptance from Howard University, as well roughly over 18 acceptances to various institutions of higher learning and a countless number of non-institution affiliated scholarships.

My earliest memories took place in the beautiful tropics amongst the West Indies, as my family originates from the islands scattered amidst the enchanting waters of the Caribbean Sea. I hail from St. Croix, U.S.V.I. while my parents and majority of family members are native to the breathtaking island of Saint Lucia. The cultures are rich and stand out amongst others, so I am proud of my heritage. A sufficient chunk of my efforts are fueled by the realization that I must strive to move mountains in order to bring a change into my family and ultimately the world.

The Jersey Shore has contributed greatly to my development as a person, as this is where my family and I migrated to following our departure from our original land. We settled in Central Jersey (though many believe this area of Jersey is a myth it is very real >.<) and settled along the coast. Jersey reminds me a lot of my actual home since the boardwalks, beaches, tourists in search of hot sand, and natural beauty of the Earth stands out.

2015 was the year a chapter was closing in my life, while a new one was being prepped to be written. I graduated from my town’s High School and was en route to the prestigious Howard University where I embarked on pre-medicine studies track with intent of becoming a traditional westernized practicing doctor. Following the completion of my first year, I was granted the opportunity to intern at Howard University Medical School, and contribute to the HUADR research project. My personal contribution focused on the Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria disorder and working within the epigenetics/physiology labs helped to bring further understanding.

Fast forward to the year of 2017, I have rerouted my educational goals and made the switch from west to east in regards to studying medicine. Despite my vast understanding of human physiology, biology, etc, I have taken the non-traditional route and am now in pursuit of mastering the art of alternative medicine, as well as becoming well-versed in holistic healing treatments. I intend to run a small business and open a practice in which that focuses on these factors and is cryptocurrency compliant.

The STEM field has never been considered foreign territory for me, and as I embark down the trail of cryptocurrencies, I know the journey will only get more in-depth and enjoyable for here. Fortunately, I have been able to attract those into my life that are able to contribute to as well as experience mutual growth within our desired aspects pertaining to the promising field.

Through diligent work, perseverance, and spunk, the rewards to reap will be endless, but it is important to keep in mind our duty to this earth. As the influential Ralph Emerson briefly touched on the subject of adhering to the motto, service before self, he states “The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” In other words my purpose in life is to grace others with the help that they may need; and to share light with others. This mantra is one that serves as an underlying principle to adhere to as I progress through this interesting phenomena we call life.

marthas table 2016.JPG
(independent volunteer work with DC’s Martha’s Table non-profit organization. Southeast D.C.)

This is the open ended yet evolving story of a young aspiring entrepreneur. I hope you have enjoyed catching a glimpse into my odyssey and will have interest in following me and showing support during this worthwhile journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63