The Making of Ombre and Romantic Soap (with Pink Raindrops)

in #soapmaking5 years ago

Today, I edited and uploaded a video that I think you will like. That is, if you like watching how artisan soap is poured to acquire the unique designs that result! I'm happy and excited to bring this video to you! But first, here are a few pictures of my making the goat's milk melt-and-pour embeds for the tops of these bars:
IMG_2321.JPG
I must say that the plastic candy molds are not an ideal choice, but they sometimes work.
IMG_2322.JPG
One of the problems with these molds is that they tend to crack and have a short life. It makes it difficult to see them as a business investment since they may not last for a second use. But you never know.
IMG_2327.JPG
The results sure are pretty though! At least this time! ;-)

Once the heart embeds were complete, I was able to make my cold process soap! For this recipe, I included canola oil, olive oil, coconut oil, palm kernel oil, castor oil, shea butter, and cocoa butter. Here is a picture of some of the hard oils and butters as I melted them in a double boiler:
IMG_2333.JPG

There were more steps to the process such as adding the soft oils to the melted ones, making lye water and adding it to the oil mixture, deciding on mica colors and how much titanium dioxide to use, and getting a squeeze bottle ready for the teardrop technique (which I also call "raindrops").
IMG_2338.JPG

At last, I'm ready to show you how I put it all together (you're going to love this!):

You can find my handmade soaps and more here: http://lathersforlife.com/index.html
(Due to shipping costs, etc., I ship only within the United States at this time.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54