This Snow Blows

in #snow3 years ago

Hunter's Law of Diminishing Returns states that the more I prepare for something, the less likely it is to happen. This is why I always try to be prepared for winter. It's also why I put out dire warnings whenever severe weather is predicted: If I warn of ten inches of snow, wildfires, or tornadoes, it's less likely a fire tornado will cause severe blowing and drifting.

That doesn't always work.

Three years ago I bought a small electric snowblower. There were three reasons for this: first, shoveling out my driveway is a game for the young, of which I no longer am. Second, my old frostbite injuries have really started acting up in recent years. Even with gloves on, my hands become stiff, painful, and useless, kind of like Congress. Third, and in correlation with the previously described law, owning a snowblower made it less likely to be needed.

Also, a month ago I bought a new pair of boots. My old rubber boots started to leak, and also weren't insulated--and my toes have frostbite damage, too. So, between the snowblower and the boots, I figured we were safe from a bad snowstorm--at least, for awhile.

Which brings me to Hunter's Diminishing Return Correlation: The more confident I am that nothing's going to happen because I prepared for it, the more likely it is to happen, anyway.

snow boots.jpg
Here's a spoiler line from my new novel in progress: "Nice boots". It loses something out of context.

This week we got nine or ten inches of snow, the exact amount being hard to tell because of the gusty winds, which also reminds me of Congress. Now, the most snow we've had in the two years before that was only a few inches at a time. While the snowblower worked in that, I found it wasn't all that much easier than just using a snow shovel. Just the same, when I got home from work at 6 a.m. and realized my car couldn't get more than a foot into the driveway, I figured it was time to break it out.

(I live on a state highway, and work less than a mile away--so in my experience the real driving adventure is parking after the plows have been through.)

Snow blowing.jpg
Well. This blows.

Hunter's Law of Power Tools #7 is that the more I need a tool, the less likely it is to start. This is why I got an electric snowblower instead of a gas powered one: Fewer parts to break. That worked out for me this time, because it turns out snow in the 1-2 foot range is right in my little device's wheelhouse: It ran like a champ, and got my driveway clear enough to park almost before my hands went numb.

No one was more surprised than I was.

Snow blown.jpg
I didn't bother trying to get it TOO clean--more snow was predicted later in the week.

Being able to park made the people who wanted to get by on the state highway happy. Hey, I left my car's four way flashers on, and it only took an hour--they couldn't just detour?

By then I was unable to move my fingers, so I called it a day and tackled opening the front door with my teeth, which are now also frostbit. I planned to shovel the sidewalk the next day, but my neighbor, whose dog is either a best friend of our dog or a mortal enemy (I don't speak dog), pulled out his big honkin' gas powered snowblower and cleared both mine and his. I'm extremely grateful for that, because my extension cord is only so long.

What's going to happen next? I'm betting flood. Just in case, I'm stocking up on buckets.

(Note: Flooding wasn't next--it was freezing fog.)

Sort:  

Yeah, I heard a lot about weather in the US lately, especially the cold spell reaching all the way down to texas. By the looks of it (on a map) it seems Indiana was kind of lucky, as the worst part was further west.
But lucky with the weather is a relative term anyway. The other day I watched a video live stream from Duluth, a city at Lake Superior. The picture had some data inserted, also the temperature - it was -22F in the morning! Now thats what I call cold...
That Hunter's law is usually also valid for me. But for once I beat it recently. See, during the winter I prepared a sun protection for the balcony, for next summer obviously.
Now 2 weeks ago, we also had a cold spell with a blizzard and 15 inches of snow (or 5 feet in some drifts). What Hunter's law didn't know: if I let that sun screen hang straigt down, it closes the opening of the balcony, so the snow is prevented to get in and pile up on the balcony. Haa, Hunter's law, you didn't see that one coming...
Btw., for this weekend they forecast 80F! There you see how much I puzzled the weather with my trick... :)

Yes, it does seem possible to confuse winter! Our temperature yesterday was about 50 degrees warmer than it was a week before--we went sledding the day before yesterday, and took the dog for a long walk yesterday. After sub-zero temperatures, 46F and sunshine seemed like heaven. Maybe all our snow will eventually melt away.

But yes, although we were colder than the south, in general they had more snow and ice than us, not to mention they're just not used to weather that cold. Also, Florida got tornadoes, so ... can't complain.

Yes, it was really sunny and warm here the past few days, too. The sun is surprisingly powerful already. But I just hope we don't see a relapse - it's still only February, after all.

True, if the people are not prepared for such cold weather, it makes it twice as bad. And that's when "Hunter's law" comes into play again. Probably some people in Texas or other southern states will now buy heatings and improve the insulation of their house - and then it never gets cold again for the next 25 years. Or they don't, and have the same mess again next winter. Let's see how the karma balance swings... :)

Yeah, I heard about the tornados, pretty crazy stuff. May be the weather goes totally mad and we get a real nice summer this year... :)

Oh, there's absolutely going to be a relapse--at least there will be one here. In Indiana, there's a period called "March Madness"--it refers to basketball playoffs, but it's always accompanied by truly awful weather of one kind or another. I remember having to walk around snow drifts to get to wildland fires in March.

Maybe I'd better start preparing for hurricane season ...

Yeah, we have something similar that is called "Sheep's cold", often as late as April or early May. The name comes from when the sheep are shorn, that's usually at that time, and they stand there shivering. As do the people...

Best prepare for everything that can possibly happen. Though, that would be a rather long list... And some things are difficult to prepare for, like asteroid impacts and volcanos and such. :)

At least the people can cover themselves with wool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61