Falling white gold!

in #snow5 years ago


Yeah, and all of a sudden it was there. The white gold falling out of the sky!


Already during the day I was acting like an annoying child at work, because every time when I was walking past a window I saw them falling. I did a crapload of miniature dances and happy jumps and I think every Swiss person in my building thought I was completely mad, because them this was all normal.





SNOW!


But for me it wasn’t/ isn’t! It had been a couple of years since I saw the flakes falling out of the sky, but honestly snow has always been something magical to me. I remember as a kid when it would snow in Holland I would leave my bedroom to check the falling snow from my parents bedroom because it had a better view on the streetlantern so I could actually see the snow falling. Also the last days before actually leaving for the Caribbean had some great unexpected snow surprises in Holland which left an unforgettable memory that I would often refer to while chilling on the beach there.


Also the commitment to myself to always walk in snowfall was a good one back in the days. Walking to work would take me an hour, versus a 10 minute drive or a 15 minute bikeride (which is dangerous AF with snow), but I would ALWAYS choose to walk.


So yesterday when my friends told be to drop by on the other side of town while the snow was falling it was naturally for me to walk a nice 4.5 kms to them and 4.5 back later. Seeing people heads buried in their coats made me laugh a little bit, while the flakes were smooching my make up towards my ears. IDGAF!


Snow! My second love together with deep blue seas, welcome back into my life!



Sort:  

Ah so you have snow too :-) I can imagine that you're extra excited after living at st Martin :) it must be stunning there in Swiss when there's snow

It is crazy beautiful! Next weekend really hitting the mountains but here in the city already it is also super beautiful! Well atleast that takes the greyness out of the weather bringing something new :)

But ej, thick flakes by you guys as well there !

Hey karinxxl

I love the snow too but we so rarely get any where I'm from. I always remember skiing in my local park as a kid. A friend of my mum's had her own set of ski and me and her son would 'borrow' them and hurtle down the tiny hill in Princes park. Ha ha, it took seconds to get down before having to take them off and scramble back up but we didn't care. If my memory serves, it snows about once every 5 or 6 years here and only ever sticks around for a day or two 😐

Ha ha, what you say about riding a bike in the snow is spot on. I broke my wrist when I was 15 trying to ride in the snow... Bad idea 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha I totally recognize this in the sleighing situation as well.. Running up and sleighing down the local hill (artifically around an animal farm) the whole damn day whenever the snow was actually there. Being happy with just that what nature had provided you, damn those are good memories man!

Yeah by us snow was also scarce...thats why it is good to be in the mountains here, and have the security that I will see a crapload of snow this season.

Biking and snow?? Nehhh, that is like the worst idea ever, that I when public transportation is all of a sudden your best friend

I love snow :) it is starting to snow here too and I am looking forward for having a snowy Christmas time with the family.

You post was awesome! Keep going!! :)

Where are you located somewhere? Yeah This year I am doing a white Christmas for sure while spending it on a mountain here, kind of magical after spending all these last years Christmas on a Caribbean beach hahahaha.

I hope you guys will have a perfect christmas there!

I used to love the snow as a child, living in Germany, and in Ireland. It doesn't snow here in Australia though, except for the tops of a couple of mountains, in winter.

Oeee yeah, I can imagine that Australia is not getting you your daily snow fix, although new zealand of course also has some skiing regions there (not very closeby though)

Yeah...aussieland is just more for summer weather in the end... Alps are for winter ;)

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.299 which ranks you at #2545 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2548).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97