You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sndbox Summer Camp: Final Quest - Mystery Project 2 (The Project that Promotes Steem)

in #sndboxsummercamp6 years ago (edited)

There's clearly a lot of work having gone into this project - very nice photos on the 'I etc' especially and a nice diverse programme overall.

Very nice the way you've road-mapped everything out too.

Lord knows we need some more people to onboard asap given the downward trend since mid May!

I'm glad you've largely steered clear of the money aspect of steem, and are just out to promote the social aspect! That was always going to be a non-starter given the small chances of any newcomers actually making any!

Which brings me onto the biggest challenge with steem promotion - how do you 'warn' new users that for them, they're probably looking at minimal rewards and yet they're just going to have to put up with the constant injustice of early adopters earning more for producing, in many cases, lower quality work?

That's why I couldn't do a steem promo project - whenever I tell people about steem, I have to lay everything out, and the thing which stands out more than anything else (for me a sociology teacher) is the incredible inequality - e.g. the juxtaposition between early adopters @aggroed and pals spending $100s on @steemonsters - which is their absolute right of course (and the monsters are cool), but when that's in the same feed as the various curation initiatives handing out a few SBDs per post... it just looks 'wrong'.

But don't get me wrong, I love steem and the opportunities steemit provides for the people who stick it out, but for me this place is a tough sell, so good job staying focused on the positives, I just haven't got the right mindset for it!

P.S. Personally I'd say my experience on here got a lot better once I'd invested in 500 SP, and much better still now I've quintupled that. Might be worth mentioning in the promotional literature that the more you invest the better it is (without making it sound like a ponzi scheme like I've just managed to!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59