Sndbox Summer Camp Photography/Filmmaking - Task "Take some shots" - Flat Lay Photography

in #sndboxquest6 years ago

Fourth part of the "Take some shots" @sndbox Photography Quest. If you don't know what i am talking about, you should really read this: https://steemit.com/sndbox/@guyfawkes4-20/sndbox-summer-camp-photography-and-filmmaking-quest-rules

Another task of the Photography Quest is to take some shots from different types of photography. This time i made the Flat Lay Photography task.

_VIC5545.png

CAMERALENSSETTINGS
Nikon D300s50mm 1.8ISO 400 - F4 - exp. 1/200

About the photo above

This is not my first time that i play with the flat lay photography style. As i said in previous posts, i started food photography. So this was just up my alley. I taught so much about this photo i needed to make for @sndbox Quest, and i wanted to make something fresh, colorful and with great vibrancy.

So, i went to my local store and bought lots of different fruits. At first i wanted just to arrange them on the piece of paper that i used for background. That just did not seem right. So, as i searched my house for props, i fount this tea pot and the cup from its set.

After many failed set-ups and lots of fruits eaten, i got this shot and it seemed just perfect. Always play with different things in flat lay photography, don't just go with your initial plan. Just use your imagination.

The technical part

For this shot i used just one light. I wanted a little shadows on the fruits and on the cup and pot. Down in this post you will find a "Making of" of this set-up and will see exactly how i placed it.

The light is from a set of two, called KAISER and they are perfect for food photography. They are not that strong, just only 65W and at a 5500K color. I really recommend them.

As usual, i used my 50mm 1.8 from Nikon and my D300s old camera. I am really fond of this set-up for all my photos. For flat lay photography it is best to use F 4.0, as i did (in my opinion).

Making of

As i promised, two "making of" photos, made with my phone. Don't laugh, but i forgot my iron on the floor :))

making-of-1.png

making-of-2.png

CAMERALENSEDIT
Huawei P10Leika SummaritSnapseed

This is my ORIGINAL CONTENT. If you like it, resteem, comment and upvote. Thank you!

Sort:  

bella

GREAT PICTURES!!👍

Thank you so much! :D

Am mai invatat ceva legat de photo. Cam cat costa o lampa "de-aceea"? ai nevoie de ea daca ai lumina suficienta?Super poza. Chiar e wow, sincer :)

Hey! Multumesc mult de comment! Setul de 2 lampi a fost in jur de 650 lei, de la f64.ro

Flat view is unexpected and creative approach:-)
Good luck with the contest!

Thanks! I am so exited for this!

@victorcovrig, you are full of ideas, great ideas!

Hey, thank you so much for the nice comment! Have a great day!

Well done! I love how the fruit is being poured from the teapot! I have one set up ready to take. This is not new for me either. I've done this for stock. Isn't this fun?

This is extremely fun! It is so nice to create something for this Quest :D

I am creating the new shots, and getting myself some new stock material at the same time! I can't lose!

Haha, true! I never made stock photography. Maybe one day i will ask for help getting into this, if you can offer it :D

I would be happy to help. I am planning to write a few blog posts about it on my @photography-101 page! I did write a post week last week explaining it a little.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51