Sndbox Summer Camp Writing: Task One “My Journey in Writing”

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!


IMG_20180422_041505.jpg


I have not been on steemit for days because of tight schedule at school but now I am back! I was scrolling, clicking and reading then all of a sudden I bumped into a blog from someone I followed. He was blogging about this contest so I searched for it. The time I confirmed the said contest, my heart fluttered and I do not know why. It was a long time ago since I stopped writing and participating in a Press Conference and this first task made me feel like looking back to my old days when I was supposed to be in love with writing rather than making electronic projects.


How did it all begin?

When I was in Elementary, my teacher asked me to read a story of her choice in front of the class and say anything about it. For me, it was nothing other than a task. But my teacher saw something in it and asked me to stay after the class dismissal.

“Do you want to write anything?” she asked. I was confused by what she meant but one thing is for sure, writing is not my thing. So with no further ado, I answered no. When I got home my sister asked me about it. I then knew that my teacher told her since she is a member of the Article Organization of the school. My answer was still a no.

“Just read some of my write ups then tell me what your decision will be.” my sister said.

I was a kind of person that does not love reading but when I read my sister’s articles I was captivated. I felt how she poured her heart in it and that changed my mind. I immediately took a pen and a paper and tried to write anything. I was testing myself if I was just enticed by those articles or I was interested in making my own. I have no topic at all so I just made an article with the same theme with my sister. And I finished it and in title it with AT THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

The next day, I was surprised when that article was posted at the front of the organization’s board. It was followed by inviting me to join. I was afraid to join because I just figured writing just a day before. My best friend knew about it and planned to join with me. I do not really have the guts but I cannot resist her puppy eyes though. Hahaha!

We took the entrance exam which was to write about corruption. There were fifteen students, including me, who participated and we were aware that only three can pass. All of them have been writing for so many years already so I thought, “Who am I compared to them?”
The next morning, the names of three students were posted in the same board and I was surprised when I saw my name in it. There were questions in my mind for I really doubted my capabilities in comparison to them. I can still remember that I asked the organization’s president about the result; I even asked her if my sister made me there. But she stood up and read to me my article. She said, “For a first timer, this article is great. Those who joined yesterday said that they were writing for years already but their write ups seemed to be from a first timer. I do not know if you understand me but one thing is for sure and that is you are meant for this.”

Sadly, my best friend did not pass. She was angry at me because what she knew was that I have never been writing and that is true. I suppose that she was just jealous. As a result, she did not talk to me for a week.



I believe that everyone has their own clock. Everything happens in accordance to our time. No one is ahead nor behind because everything happens at their own pace. So never let anyone rush you



IMG_20180422_041343.jpg

Since then, I loved writing. The first Press Conference I participated with was way back September 17, 2009. I won the 3rd place as a Feature Writer in English. I was overwhelmed as a first timer to have a place. And that made me realize that my clock started to tick. A proof to that was the picture above. I continued even when I was in High School. I have never been on 1st place since I was always on 2nd or 3rd place. I wanted to take a picture on every certificate I have, and elaborate each experience but unfortunately; when we moved to another house my envelope was left. When I tried to find it, it was already gone. Thankfully, my mother kept this certificate in here envelope together with the family’s files. I have won and lost along my journey but the memories behind my very first achievement is undeniably the best.



Why Feature Writer?

I am an opinionated person. I believe that everybody has a say at everything, so do I. A feature article can stand alone and be a main bar. This also shows variety of perspectives a writer can offer. It was never intended to only inform or educate since it also functions to humanize and entertain. It does not follow more rules than being clear, concise, threaded, transitioned, and involving. Those stated reasons are my explanations and an over view of what kind of a writer I am.



A part of @sndbox community

I know that it will be hard for me to be a member of the @sndbox community but I can always offer and showcase what I have. My achievements are little. I have never won in National contests and never been on International but I do believe that every down falls got me a better tale to wiggle. As far as I have read about steemians who also join this contest, their achievements are also great; we all have. If my clock will not tick on this then I’ll still be happy. To whoever wins and be part of this amazing community, “Your clock is ticking. This is your time so give it all”.

This kind of community inspires minnows like me to continue and to nurture our side of being a creative content creator. Knowing that there is an opportunity like this makes me become motivated. I believe that I can offer a wide potential in creating a colourful content that will make a difference in this community. I do not write an article that I do not know. I always write something that I am aware of and knowledgeable enough. It is tough for everyone to succeed, I know, but my heads will be up high and cheer the winners to soar high. This is just a great piece of the stairs in our lives. And if I will be a part of @sndbox community, then I’ll be willing to learn and give every inch I have in terms of writing. I am sure that this community will make a big difference to everyone in steemit; this is one of the things that are greater than steemit itself.


This is @sissyjill at service

Sort:  

Congratulations @sissyjill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97