Sndbox summer camp: first thoughts on project development

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Sndbox summer camp: first thoughts on project development


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

That's a great idea. Most at times searching for developments about steemit is tiring. You can search and search and you only find Steemit posts dating some months back. It's cumbersome. Your idea is going to make things easier, even if it's on a weekly basis I'll be looking forward to it.

hey! glad to get an update on how the steem times group is doing! glad that my form was helpful ;) i'm really excited for your project and definitely think there could be some cool collaboration between steem times and our promo steem group. love that there could be a legit steem newspaper!! cool!!!

There's certainly scope for synergy, for sure!

You raise many excellent points within this post and astutely sum up some of Steemit's most broken elements.

I refer mostly to the appropriate summary...

Either we open ourselves up to the bot-ridden wilderness, in which case we risk exposure to witnessing the soul-destroying injustice of the over-rewarded posts of the mediocre self-promoters, or we vigorously ignore the trending pages, unfollow all but a few people (maybe nestle into a cosy upvote circle) and just mute everything outside of our echo chamber.

Neither is ideal of-course. Surely there is some middle ground where we accept the less than desirable elements via an it is what it is attitude, whilst resisting the urge to self-cocoon ourselves in a Steemit safe-space.

Yes! I foolishly tried to follow the @steem-times. I personally go through my own feed each day and look for something that speaks to me and I engage with the author with zero consideration for their reputation score or wallet. After all many of this years minnows are next years whales, right?

Many people have informed me that minnows do not become whales anymore but I am sorry to harbour a contradictory viewpoint but if I believed that I would not be here.

I absolutely concur with your views on stagnation we either engage, read and experience the plethora of new and established authors or we atrophy...I see it as that simple at the grass roots level. I have no desire to be part of an elitist old boys network.

At the risk of sounding a little trite and cliched I believe we succeed to a greater degree together!

TBH I agree that there is some kind of middle ground, I only put in the two extremes for dramatic purposes!

I think it's highly unlikely that minnows can become whales without investing their own cash in steem... even those using bots aren't really getting that much a return as only a small percentage of their bought votes adds on to their account.

I like the line about the old boys network that is true.

Another possibility is that moves forwards in huge bust-boom cycles and certain people currently at the top power down and disappear once they've made their million and that gives an opportunity for newbies to move up.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80