My Pursuance of Knowledge & Reasons to Join Sndbox (Sndbox Summer Camp Quest - Task 3)

in #sndboxquest6 years ago

This term Sndbox Summer Camp Quest is interesting with the topic circles around philosophy, psychology, and sociology. I would like to share my personal view and see whether I could earn a place in the next @sndbox cohort too :) Great appreciation to @guyfawkes4-20, @anomadsoul, and @sndbox for providing such great opportunity for the little guy to share some thoughts and have a chance to win some perks!

Here is the link to the announcement for the quest and here are the rules for the quest.


This is my final quest submission whereby I share my pursue of knowledge (sociology, psychology and philosophy) and also reasons that I want to join @sndbox.

Why I am interested in sociology, psychology and philosophy?

Knowledge.jpg

Source

Personally, I am always curious about things that I had never heard before or some concept idea that I had never imagine before. I guess that is a good nature to keep myself excited about the life I am leading. So far, my curiosity had led me to different surprise in life and I never regret any of it, even I failed to achieve something I wanted to explore or do. The game is still on as long as my heart is kicking.

I first come across all these three components in a formal manner during my architecture degree. Before that, I am only interested in psychology and sociology. That is because I love to listen and analyze the situation people at. All of the stories could be a lesson for me to not make some mistakes in life. Besides, I could also help the ‘storyteller’ to ease their pain by listening and offering them companionship. Frankly, I have no idea how to help as I am well aware that the decision made will be always that person and not me.

Then, I came across philosophy which opened up my eyes further. After engaging with philosophy, I could comprehend the world with different polar of thinking. Some chaotic phenomena could be explained and categorizeed under several philosophies. These are indeed helpful for me to deal with the adulthood I am learning to handle.

When I started this journey?

image.png
Source

My mother is one of the influencing factors for me to get interested with psychology. However, in my teenage, I am not a fan to read books that are related but just purely in interaction with my mother and some friends. When I had reached near 20 years old, I started to realize that reading up materials about sociology, psychology and philosophy has so much fun.

After I started my first desk job after my graduation from degree, I found that working 9-5 was daunting and discouraging at some point. I had to find something to keep me stay excited rather than doing some repetitive task that seemed eternal. Then, I came across a channel that shares knowledge (in Chinese) named Luojisiwei. The talk show was led by a former producer from the CCTV. From his talk show, I experienced a change in me as I found different perspectives regarding the knowledge like sociology, psychology and philosophy that I never anticipated. Right after that, my urge to keep on exploring and seeking for more knowledge never stop until now.

How am I benefited from this knowledge?

image.png
Source

I may not able to benefit directly from the knowledge I get, but I am confident that all these will be useful somewhere in the near future. Nonetheless, there are some obvious positive impacts on me personally.

First, I am more cautious and more rational than before. Being in this era that is flooded with information, I will need some principles to guide me through or else I will end up lost. When things get more transparent, we are also prone to scams too. With the understanding of some philosophy like nothing is free, we may think twice when we are offered something that is too good to be true.

Secondly, it improves my human relationship skills which help me in the family, working and also love relationship. I could train myself to be aware of some ‘mines’ that should not step on which could jeopardize some relationship. There are just so much that can be learned to apply to better the relationship with different people.

Thirdly, I become more forgiving than before. As I understand more about the 3 components, I realize that it is pointless to keep hatred as it brings no benefit to either any party. Rather wasting my time and energy on something negative, I should move on and generate more positive energy around me.

Lastly, the understanding on the concept of probability let me see the world differently. Sometime, intuition could be deceptive and we need some rational thoughts to guide us through some difficult decision. We may be heard some people are worried and not to take a flight as they are worried about the plane crashing. If we understand the probability, then we would know that driving a car is way more dangerous and prone to accident compared to taking a plane. This applies to many other aspects like investment too.

Why I am interested to be part of @sndbox?

I had wanted to start writing and train my skills to express my thoughts and idea in words. Ever since I started to learn about the concept of compounding interest and duplicating the use of time, I do believe writing is one of the skills that allow me to achieve both of these.

Before joining Steemit, I was writing on my Linkedin account but I was not as productive as expected. When I joined Steemit last August, I was skeptical about what I could achieve on this platform. I first started off with nothing and no mentor at all on this. Without mentor and community support, I find it hard to survive and play consistently. After that, I came to know some guys like @tumutanzi, @justyy, who introduced me to the #cn community. After that, I came to know @bitrocker2020 who kickstarted #teammalaysia and gave me a lot of advice too. Slowly, I gained the momentum to write and earned pretty well too. I am grateful for what I could achieve in such a short period of time.

Knowing about @sndbox is somewhat an exciting experience as I started knowing about this platform was during the monthly State of Sndbox thumbnail contest. After that, I started to follow and participate in the contests that were organized by @sndbox. Then, @bitrocker2020 introduced the two co-founders of @sndbox, @voronoi and @hansikhouse which happened to be architects as well! That thrilled me that I could have a chance to interact and learn from the same field of professionals from different countries.

With that idea in mind, it drives me to think about how to create a platform that could enable and promote such interaction. Besides facilitating communication among professionals, the platform could be an incubator for new Steemians and professional to share their ideas, start some collaborative projects, earn some extra revenue, and meet some awesome people. That is why I started #archisteem with @cklai and @funtraveller.

What @sndbox has achieved so far had amazed me and I would definitely be part of it. Besides providing help to the plankton and minnow, it also creates different program for people with different backgrounds and interests to join. I love how diversify the community is. Plus, the cohort system that @sndbox established is like a closed community with an intense incubation program to nurture the minnows into independent and reputable dolphins. In addition, I do think my initiative #archisteem could be aligned with my @sndbox's incubation program and grow it concurrently.

Just by thinking about it, it makes me excited! That is all of what I would like to share and I look forward to the result of this quest. Thanks again to the @sndbox-alpha team for this opportunity.


image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch
Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99