Sndbox Summer Camp Challenge - Analyze a Post

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

In this post, as part of the Sndbox Summer Camp challenge, I was asked to critique the post of a Sndbox member, and I chose the following post by @critic-on:

critic on.jpg

AGUA QUE NO HAS DE BEBER, ÚSALA PARA REGAR MATAS

Some background about why I chose this post


I live on a little island in Panama and I’m just all too familiar with not having water on a regular basis. Therefore, as soon as I saw the title, I immediately wanted to read what he had to say about his experience with not having water in Venezuela. Water is a very important topic, because in my opinion water is the new gold.

Since I’m so familiar with the issue I can relate all too well to his experience.

Beginning of his post & first impression


My first thoughts about the post were that it had great potential, as I was expecting to learn something new about how I could reuse grey water in case of a shortage. My first thought was this is something I need to read, because I can apply it in my house.

He explains well how the water shortage affects everyday life in his home, from doing the dishes, to giving water to plants and animals.

What could be improved


The end of the post is where I was left a little hungry (or should I say thirsty?), wanting to read more. The article was a little short, and could have been developed further.

In the last paragraph, the author says:

Otro método que usamos en casa para optimizar el uso del agua, es el uso del agua de la ducha en el riego de las plantas, claro aún me falta por idear un mejor sistema que permita llevar el agua que sale de la ducha hacia las plantas y árboles que tenemos cerca de la casa.

I would have loved to see more details about how he implemented this system, maybe even with some photos to illustrate it. A post has to teach us something we don’t know yet, or give us useful information, and this was missing in my opinion.

It would have been great to also see some other solutions offered with regards to not depending on a centralized water distribution system in a city like his. Some ideas I come up with would be a rain catchment system for instance, an extra tank for emergencies, and also how grey waters from the shower and washing machine can be used to feed the toilets.

Finally, since he mentions that the shower water goes to his garden, he could also have explained which products or soaps are safe to use, so that the water doesn’t kill the plants. For example, if you use biodegradable detergent to wash your clothes (like white vinegar and baking soda), you can collect the water and re-distribute it to your plants without harming them.

Conclusion


I think the choice of the topic is a very interesting one, and the article had great potential. It’s a shame it wasn’t developed a little more to provide information and solutions to the readers.

Thank you @anomadsoul and @guyfawkes4-20 for making this challenge possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48