Sndbox Summer Camp Photography/Filmmaking – Task 3

in #sndboxquest6 years ago

TOPIC 1 - Street photography


The third task for the @sndbox Photography Quest is to make images from at least five out of eight topics, and to write about them and how they were captured. Read about the rules for the Quest here if you are not familiar with it.

For this my first photography topic, I am uploading some Street Photography from my afternoon on the boardwalk at Jacksonville Beach, Florida yesterday. I photographed the images with my iPhone 8 Plus, because I believe that with street photography the photographer and camera have to be as inconspicuous as possible. After all, hardly anyone pays attention to someone taking pictures with a cell phone anymore! I made a conscious decision to leave my DSLR at home.

It is said that he most famous street photographer of all times, Henri Cartier-Bresson, used to cover his Leica with black tape so that it would not stand out. His aim was to be as unobstrusive as possible. He would get the shot, then move quickly away. His subjects were oblivious to the fact that they were being photographed.

The idea of capturing one moment in time has fascinated me since I first picked up that box camera sixty three years ago. Looking back at images I have captured over the years, I have often wondered where the people in the photographs are today and what they are doing! No doubt I will do the same with these years from now.

Of all the means of expression, photography is the only one that fixes a precise moment in time. – Henri Cartier-Bresson

For some reason too, Street Photography for me needs to be in grainy black and white in order to capture the real mood of the scene. Color adds too much competition to what you are trying to say with the image. So after uploading the shots from my iPhone to my computer, I processed them in the Nik Collection Silver Efex Pro 2 to get the grainy film look.

What do you think? Which one do you like best?


streetphotography-1.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


streetphotography-2.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


streetphotography-3.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


streetphotography-4.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!
streetphotography-5.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
Click on the image to view full screen!


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png


Sort:  

I like how the bicycle in the foreground creates a sense of depth in the fourth image. Good tip on using a smartphone for street photography.

Thanks! When there I paid attention. There was not a single person carrying a DSLR, but just look at the people checking their smartphones in the second shot! I would have stood out like a sore thumb!

I do love the grainy look much better! It has a way of adding the authenticity (street cred) to the whole scene. I agree the smartphone is the only way to go nowadays in this event.

I am just hearing about this challenge, so I am going to go read about it. As always, your photography is always amazing.

Thank you so much! Tip!

Thanks so much! The worst part was making a video for it. Did you see that? The video itself was OK, but the snapshot from the video got messed up somehow by dtube! I'm sideways and distorted and i have no idea how to fix it. LOL! Thanks for the tip too! :-)

Hi @dmcamera! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Spring Back To Life Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Awesoem series of street shots your rocking this quest

Glad you are enjoying them! Did you decided not to go any further this time? It would be great to have you on board with it!

i wish I could but I read it as go out and take shots for the quest with snow tonight and tomorrow and temps near freezing I just can’t risk going out shooting I am already feeling chest congested and have to put my health first

But of course you have to. Even here, we are having rain for the next few days, so I'm glad I did the video and the street shots yesterday!I think I will likely just have time for the minimum 5, but at least I get some stock shots out of it anyway! LOL!

nice post sir thank you

dear sir / ma'am plz bot my post and follow me o also follow you and bot you thank you......

These are great street photos... I like the first and third the best.

Thanks! The first was a team of military personnel out training. They were doing the traditional chant as they ran. There has to be a name for it. Lol! Then I saw the kid with the skateboard, and knew I had to capture that shot!

The black and white version has made the photos very generalized, whole. I can imagine how they looked in color, I think they will not be so interesting?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88