Sndbox Summer Camp Photography/Filmmaking – Task 3

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

MACRO PHOTOGRAPHY – Topic 3


Macro photography involves capturing a small object or insect etc. at life size or greater. A true macro lens like the one I use (The Canon EOS 100mm 2.8) has a 1:1 ratio, meaning that it can capture objects at life size on the sensor. If you are shopping for a macro lens, make sure that it is a 1:1 macro lens. Lens manufacturers often mark their zoom lens with a macro setting. Those settings are not true macro, so don't be fooled by the sales pitch!

Macro photography is not only used for shooting flowers and insects, but is also used commercially with other subject matter too. I quite often shoot macro images for stock, as can be seen from the following examples that I have available for license on Getty Images:
Canna lily, buttons, red rose, pineapple, turtle, guitar strings, frosting on cupcake, marigold, walking iris and a pinecone. I have many more macro shots at other agencies too.

When shooting flowers etc. outdoors, I often use a ring flash, which is a flash that surrounds the end of the lens. Indoors, I use studio strobes. I usually use a smallish aperture (f11 or f16) for objects like flowers and insects, because at such close range as 12 inches for my lens, the depth of field is very shallow anyway. Of course there are times, when I want to have just a tiny part of the image in focus, so then I will use a larger aperture, maybe even f2.8 or f4.

This macro image of a chrysanthemum was shot in the studio with the light from two strobes bounced off the white ceiling to give even soft light.
chyrsanthemum macro-1.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!

CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/100 sec; f/13; ISO 500
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2018, Adobe Camera Raw

On the occasions that I want to get even greater magnification to my shots, I add a close-up magnifying lens or two to my macro lens. For the following chrysanthemum shot, I added a Tiffen +1 and a Tiffen +2 to the 100mm macro.
chyrsanthemum macro-2.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!

CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM & Tiffen +1 and Tiffen +2
Exposure1/100 sec; f/11; ISO 500
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2018, Adobe Camera Raw

(The third task for the @sndbox Photography Quest is to take 5 out of 8 different types of images and to write about them and how they were captured. Read about it here.)


For those interested in participating in the #wiwcontest, you can find the rules for and the theme for this week here. Be sure to join us! All SBD from that post will be shared with the 3 winners!


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Great shot Diane!
Thank you so much for the info!

Thanks, and you are welcome!

Thanks for sharing, so information. Keep up the good job

Thanks kindly! 😊

what a beautiful color... Just enjoy)

Yes, I was very attracted to the color and markings on this flower!

Good captures :)

Thanks! The subject matter was a help! 😊

It's tricky to get those close up shots and keep it in focus and the colors looking right. Excellent! @ironshield

Thanks for your kind words! I appreciate your stopping by!

Thanks for this information. Now I more understand about macro photography.

Glad that you have learned something from my post. Thanks for your comment.

Yeah I live photography but I prefer tradisional art.

We each have our strengths and our preferences. I do a little art too, but I'm mostly an photographer.

I really love how those colors pop! I'm working on my garden-at-home myself and have really gotten into collecting and growing a lot of beautiful flowers. I'm still looking for one as bright and nice as the one you photographed, though!

Thanks! That was a flower I took home from an art class I was attending. There was a bunch of chrysanthemums, and our teacher invited us all to pick one to take home. I loved the color and markings on that one!

informative :) for those fans to take pictures would be excellent to read this post

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by!

Never heard of that term "macro photography " . Thank you @dmcamera
and beautiful photos, btw ;)

Thanks! Steemit is a great place for education. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40