My State of the Sndbox Competition Entry

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, I decided to join Monthly thumbnail competition by Sndbox. I like to work in Corel Draw with vectors, so here is my entry :)

marty_arts.png

I wanted to draw some animal in a geometric way. First I was thinking about lion or wolf, but it seemed to me unfit. I realised the best animal would be a whale. We all want to become one :) The city around represents the world and the comunity which is fortify by the round moon symbol of the unity. Night brings to this picture also a feeling of something hidden and magical.

The process

I started with the whale. I used a photo and according to it I drew the geometric shapes. I chose colors from the sndbox pallete and colored it.

012635.png

Then I worked on a city. I made a dark background with the Moon. First I was thinking about drawing an earth instead of the Moon, but I liked it better this way. Buildings were simple to draw, I only used basic shapes and added windows.

654.png

I moved the whale in the middle and made all the details like stars, moon shadow and so on.

648.png

Here is the final piece....

marty_arts.png

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

Wonderful, I liked it very much. :)

this looks great! is the text big enough for a small thumbnail though?

thanks :) I think it is not a problem.. steemians know the sndbox color palete and its always written in the title, so it seems to me fine like this..

I really like your design a lot, although I second the concerns about the font size. You could easily double the size of "STATE" and "SNDBOX" and they would still fit into the skyline, if you move them to the borders.

thanks, Ive already did it.. :) I had to change the font too, but it is better now I think...

Way better, I even prefer the new font. Thanks for the fast update and good luck with the contest!

very nice work!
great idea!
and happy New Year!

Really well done!

Ha-ha-ha! It's useless to compete with you! Sumptuously! Happy New Year!

love love that lo poly whale!! really dig that style and the color palette you chose was perfect- great job @marty-arts !

thank you, I was surprised it went so good :D

Great work! Wish you luck in contest :)
I have not seen Corel Draw since 8-10 years I think!!! It looks same in my memory :)

thank you, well I love to use it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64356.37
ETH 3512.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54