Self-proclaimed @sndbox’s Mini-steward

in #sndbox7 years ago

Introduction



Source

My Bachelors studies are nearing its end, therefore the biggest need to spend some time working on the…school stuff…is right about now. Thus said, time has become the scarcest commodity in my possession. At the same time though my SP has grown quite a lot lately. With great power comes great responsibility and I had to decide how to use my SP even though I had close to no time to read the articles.

The curation strategy



Source

Ever since I joined @sndbox, I’ve been voting for its users quite frequently. Not only it is financially worth it, but most of the content is also very good and deserves the support. Being part of the @sndbox saved tons of time that would have to be used to search for the content too. If one wants to earn at least something trough curation reward, simply voting for the content is not enough. The voting needs to be timely accurate too. When one wants to be “on time” with the up vote, he has to either concentrate on “not forgetting” to vote, or simply waste the time waiting for it. Both of the options didn’t cut it for me. The studying is not that efficient when I have to keep remembering that I have to vote soon.

Since the situation with the lack of time won’t change anytime soon I decided that I’m in need of a voting bot. As of now the bot is still crashing every one and half hour, but it already does what I want it to do, so its only matter of time before it is sufficiently polished. I will then compile a tutorial that will teach you guys how to set up your own basic voting bot. But having the bot is not enough right?

Up until now I have been voting for new @sndbox posts with 100% vote when I was online. I voted for everyone really, but it was way too easy to miss the right time for the vote and I was offline most of the time so it was a sustainable situation regarding my voting strength. So the decision had to be made. For the start I decided to give each @sndbox member the same chance. I’ve set up the bot to vote with 20% for each post any of them will publish. I’ll be watching my voting power, randomly selected articles to check the quality from my point of view and the “profitability” during first weeks. My aim is to vote for less members with bigger power, but I will need some time to evaluate the situation.

Summary



Source

@sndbox users, now is the time to show off (don’t take me wrong…this is a permanent state:D)! “Mini-steward” up votes are there for you. I firstly need to gather some data, upon which upgraded strategy will be prepared. As of now, you know exactly how I’ll try to measure the gathered data. Transparency is the key!


Sort:  

It's been a little while since I've seen a post from you. I guess its that time of the year with school exams and all of that.

This sounds like a good strategy - voting for @sndbox members. I'm interested in how voting bots work also, so I look forward to your post on that topic.

How are you going to gather data, like how will you choose which @sndbox members you will follow? I'm wondering if there is a method to your strategy or is it more based on your personal interests?

Yea that time exactly...

Well I’ll definitely check profitability of the vote cast in each member’s way (obvious reasons), how many posts each member makes outside of the @sndbox tag (to save the power), the language (I like to understand what I vote for:D), and then if my power is still depleting quite a lot I’ll start cutting the accounts because of the topics and the way they are presented (this can though happen any time when I come across something that I really don’t like:P).

Interesting. Seems like a solid strategy.

how many posts each member makes outside of the @sndbox tag

That makes sense. You don't want your vote going to a random thought bubble that won't generate any votes.

I kind of stopped browsing in the ocean of contents since I joined sndbox as well. There are many good content makers and writers like yourself. Congratulations on finishing school! :D

Thanks! I haven’t yet finished the university. The hardest times have just started...

I wanna be a part of @sndbox. Now following, pls follow back.

follow for follow will not cut it...

constructive additions to the initial text

Roger that, ull be seeing more of me 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36