A Golden Flying Snake Was In My Room & Crawled Across My Arm Today! 🐍

in #snakes6 years ago

I got an extreme shock this morning when a golden flying snake slithered out from inside my cooker, across my arm and jumped/flew to hide in the corner of my room. I am not frightened of snakes as I have had to deal with many highly venomous types from brown snakes in Australia to cobras in Indonesia.

However I am cautious of them, especially if I cannot instantly identify them!

When this beautiful snake slithered across my arm this morning it happened so fast it almost seemed surreal. Normally I would catch or encourage the snake to leave the premises but I had not had the chance to identify this snake. I went off to find a Cambodian who could help me identify the snake. I did not have any boots, only bare feet so I felt it was important to identify what I was working with.

IMG_4243.JPG

I am aware that Asians can kill snakes which are not dangerous because they are confused as to which are venomous and which are not. I asked my friends to help me identify the snake but immediately they set about killing it.

They assured me that it was dangerous and had to be killed as there are young children downstairs. I don't like to kill animals if I can help it but the safety issue is important.

It was only after this snake was killed and I was able to identify it that I realized it was not venomous. This beautiful animal was the Chrysopelea ornata or golden flying snake. These snakes often live in the trees and can kind of fly when they jump.

I feel sad that the snake is dead and don't want to post the other photos I took. However perhaps some positivity can be gleaned from this situation. Now that I have identified it I will be speaking with my Cambodian friends and educating them on the nature of this beautiful animal.

Perhaps this will save more of these being necessarily killed in my neighborhood!


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank
& loves @canadian-coconut, @chron, @mammasitta, @samstonehill, @sift666, @v4vapid


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort:  

It is a beautiful looking snake and even attractive, given that it is not poisonous.

It's not easy to stay calm when you come across with a snake ..

I'm normally OK. If I know what it is I can handle it. I also like to have my thick working boots on and then I'm pretty comfortable.

I feel much less comfortable if I dont' know what kind of snake it is and I am in bare feet! 😉

Funny-Horse-Wallpaper.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57159.76
ETH 2351.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38