My first Speckled King Snake of 2018. YAY!!!

in #snakes6 years ago

thumbnail_20180816_185158_resized.jpg


Alright I'm two for two today! I'm on a roll! How often do I get to catch two snakes two days in a row??? Here it is I was just talking about catching a Speckled King Snake in my last post of the Garter Snake. Well here it is, behold my first Speckled King Snake of 2018. Check out this beauty...




Ive been looking under these boards in this debree pile all summer long hoping to find a snake and today there was finally one under there. Speckled King Snakes are one of the greatest snakes you can have around your house on your property. What a beautiful snake too I found. His black and yellow markings were very vivid.

What is great about Speckled King Snakes is they eat other snakes including venomous snakes, like Copperheads and Cottonmouths. I remember a time when I was a teenager, I caught one of these snakes and shortly after catching it, it puked up a Copperhead on me. Yes it was disgusting and I let him go shortly after that happened. It sucks because I hate disturbing a snake after they have eaten because they do that. Fun fact: if their bodies are still digesting when you catch them they are likely to puke up what they just got done eating. It is the same with any snake really.

Last year, before I signed up for Steemit, I caught three Speckled King Snakes and let them all go under the house. I can't tell for sure if this king snake was indeed one of them. Either way it is good that I found one finally. I was getting nervous thinking I was going to go the whole year this year without finding one. Speak of the devil right? Now I need to catch a snake tomorrow. Will I be so lucky??? We will see...


As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
thumbnail_20180816_185547_resized.jpg
PROOF of Speckled King Snake

Stay Un-Tune-Ed


Join the TRUTH Party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!!!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

What an excellent snake! Kudos, and other candy bars too!

Thanks Papa Pepper! I will be entering this guy in next weeks photo contest.

haha! good find today sir Rainbow Man! that is one fine snake with very cool markings, I didn't know that about them, I wonder if they live in Texas?
vote is still recharging today, I'm sorry.

Howdy Jonboy! No worries my vote power is recharging too. I will have to look it up if they live in Texas. I want to say yes. If you find one let it go around your house or garden. These snakes are one of the best. I want to say they will even eat rattlesnakes but I don't know. But I do know for a fact they eat Copperheads LOL from my own experience.

ok Rainbow Man I believe you and that had to have freaked you out when you interrupted it's digestion and it upchucked.

You are getting lucky these days. Can you go 3 for 3?
They are probably there just hiding well. Don't King snakes usually have a mate around pretty close, I seem to remember my grandpaw telling me something like that, or it may have been copperheads, that where you found one there would usually be another close by.

I'm certainly going to try 3 for 3! It feels great to finally find some snakes. This beauty I will be entering in @papa-pepper's contest but it will have to wait till next week for I've already entered this weeks contest.
I don't know for sure about there being a mate nearby. I want to say yes because Papa Pepper had a great Speckled King Snake post awhile back of two Speckled Kingsnakes he found. So I believe you might be right.

I've typically found garter snakes in multiples as well, but I think that is because of their nesting habits.

Garter Snakes mate in orgies so it is common to find a bunch of them. I know I sure did 5 years ago living in Portland. That was the most snakes I ever caught in one day. I must have caught over 20 of them before my sack was full that I was keeping them in when I made that video.

Oh my gosh! That IS a speckled king snake! It's been a really long time since I've seen one. Beautiful!

Did you watch the video? He actually struck at me. First time I think I ever got bit at by one of these snakes. They are usually friendly like the Black Rat Snakes.

I had a king snake grab on and swallow my thumb and wrap around my arm years and years ago. I ran my hand under cold water at an angle so the water ran into the side of his mouth. He let go. I think he thought my thumb was a pinky mouse. They are usually quite docile but they are also individuals. Figures you find a cranky one. Of course you were trying his patience. You are indeed a crazy hippie with a gun. 😎 🌈

HA HA I know that I'm crazy. Therefore I'm not crazy. Isn't that crazy???

Congratulations @hippie-witha-gun! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67803.71
ETH 3800.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66