Surprise surprise... How about sitting down to this...

in #snakes8 years ago

Yesterday I put up a clip where a hippo gave a motorist a black Friday

Well on black Friday eve a resident of a flat in Pretoria had more than the usual surprise one may find in a toilet bowl...

Check out this video of a snake handler trying to capture it.

I have substantial experience with Snakes both venomous and non-venomous.

Of all the bad boys I have had to handle, the snouted cobra is the one I have the most respect for and am most weary of. They are very wily and the one most experienced handlers are likely to get bitten by if they do get bitten.

This was a big one, personally when capturing a large snake I'm a little old fashioned and don't use tongs as in the video, I prefer to grab the head after pinning it down. Its just easier to pry the snake loose when its holding on to something with its tail.

If you notice in this clip the wrangler starts off with glasses on and only takes them off once the cobra has been identified as a non-spitter.

In this instance the snake got loose from the tongs and slithered back up the drainage system... residents are not to happy with that fact and aren't sleeping at night fearing it will make a re-appearance.

By Ryanvanhuyssteen, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link

Sort:  

I have a huge snake phobia! I can barely look at your photos, but I admire who can handle with those ones and put them far, far away from me!!

I would have vacated the premises immediately!!!!

OMG not in the toilet please!

I seem to remember you getting bitten by a snake quite a few years back?

Many times.... but those are stories for other days

Why are they always getting in the damn toilet :)

through the sewer system... lots of rats there

Ugh... glad we don't have those here. We have rattlers, but they're not too interested in water. I've dealt with them from a distance, which is good enough.
Apparently some cobras have gotten loose in Florida, which already has the biggest rattlesnakes and other nasties. That'll rattle your cage.
http://www.floridatoday.com/story/news/local/environment/2016/04/11/florida-crack-down-cobras/82887418/

Oh my thunder!! Snake 1 handler 0. Me - no where to be seen!!

Hi @gavvet
I will not go to the toilet in the dark, if I stayed in those flats!!
I read a bit on snouted cobras and except for rodents and small animals, they apparently also eat other snakes, even puff adders.

[shudders] I think I'm going to have a nightmare of that snake coming out of a toilet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64