All that wiggles is not always a worm... Bitis peringueyi

in #snakes8 years ago (edited)

Another small adder but now the true desert variety is the Peringuey's Desert Adder or Sidwinder adder - Bitis peringueyi.

These little guys and gals are found in the dune deserts off the Namibia coast.

With eyes placed on the top of their heads they bury themselves in the dune sand. They have a black tipped prehensile tail that they wave around and wiggle to attract lizards

They get much of their water in this dune environment from their prey the desert lizards

By Václav Gvoždík - http://calphotos.berkeley.edu, CC BY-SA 2.5, Link

Their other interesting prey is the Barking Gecko

By Bernard DUPONT from FRANCE - Common Barking Gecko (Ptenopus garrulus), CC BY-SA 2.0, Link

Check out the fringes on its toes, from whence it gets its name, "feather-foot" Ptenopus in classical Greek

Sort:  

Snakes fascinate me. To the point that @s0u1 was going to get me one for my birthday!

The reason he didn't?

I have cats and couldn't bear to think that one day I'd come downstairs for breakfast to find the snake had escaped and had a cat-sized/shaped lump digesting in its belly... ;)

I see you passion on wild life @gavvet. My daughter also is one of the fan.


Thupher Thupher Thcary! The Geckos' I mean. For some reason I am more scared of geckos than snakes....

how can you be scared of something with feathers on its feet?

One night while I was reading a gecko jumped on my arm. I was hysterical! Felt like an ALIEN hand on my arm. Clammy wet little feet...not a nice feeling at all. Just unexpected though...and ever since then I had this phobia. Weird but true.... I am not even scared of spiders, but Geckos, snakes and millipedes I am absolutely scared sh**less! LOL!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86