My San Juanico Bridge Adventure

in #smwchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemitverse!

The summer is already on here in the Philippines, perfect for travel and getaway specially over the weekends.

And speaking of travel, I just got home from my Leyte trip last Thursday. One of my escapades this time was crossing the famous longest bridge in the Philippines, the San Juanico Bridge.

San Juanico Bridge is one of the most beautiful bridges in the Philippines that connects the islands of Leyte and Samar across the San Juanico Strait.

It was constructed during the reign of former President Ferdinand Marcos in 1969 which took 4 years in the making.

The bridge stretches from Cabalawan, Tacloban Leyte to Santa Rita, Samar with 2.16 Kilometers in total length.


Another trivia of this bridge is the formation, it shows the letter "L" and "S".
The L representing the Province of Leyte while S is for Samar.

As you can see, this view was taken from Cabalawan, Tacloban Leyte. Showing the L shape of the bridge.


While this one, view from the middle of the bridge, nearly approaching the Province of Samar, in which the S is very visible.

If you could notice, all photos above are just taken inside the car while we are crossing the bridge because it is prohibited to stop across and take photos or anything like that. But we are kindda "pasaway" hahaha and did a very very quit stop over in the middle to take a good shot of the bridge.
But please don't do that, the Marshals are just around 😂😂, also its a dangerous act due to rapid passing vehicles.

Along the bridge is the enchanting view of the San Juanico Strait with islets and thousands of whirlpool beneath the the mighty bridge.

These views are new to me as it is my first time crossing this bridge, seeing the greens and blue are very refreshing from the congested city where I live.

But I would say, I have a little drop of Waraynon blood. Hahaha! Because may father is a Native of Samar and a coincidence of having friends from this Province.

And when I was a kid my father keeps on telling some shivering legend about this bridge.... That during the construction, there are so many missing children in the Province and all over the Philippines because they are getting the fresh blood from those kids and mixed it in the cement to strengthen the foundation.

Wahhhh! 😭😭 Sounds creepy huh! But its just a legend and old bedtime story for a kid like me to make me sleep on time. Hahaha!
Real or not, I have no Idea. 😂😂

But one thing for real is the breathtaking picturesque of this bridge that shows the unity of the people of Leyte and Samar. 😘😘

All photos was captured by my Samsung Note8.

I would like take this opportunity to extend my gratitude to my friends for showing me around the town especially this thrilling adventure of crossing San Juanico Bridge , I owe you guys! @meetmysuperego, @imje, @stephey 🤗♥️
'Til next time... I shall return!

Thank you everyone and happy weekend!



I OWN ALL PHOTO/S AND CONTENT POSTED ABOVE

Sort:  

Ito ang gusto ko mapuntahan 😊👍 picture perfect! ❤️❤️❤️

Thank you @pinay, happy trip. 😊😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bluesapphire06
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-san-juanico-bridge-adventure


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A very enjoyable holiday thank you for sharing

Yes, I had a great time. Thanks @mimam 😊

Its a lovely bridge and I'm sure if I was driving pass I would go real slow at 30km per hour ^_^

Thank you so much @livinguktaiwan. 😊😊
Maybe I should do that next time. Hahaha!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's #TravelDigest!

Waahhhh! Thank you very much @steemitworldmap. 🤗🤗😍😍

This post has received a 10.00% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77