You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smart Media Tokens Explained // Interview with @raised2b - Part Two

in #smt6 years ago

So awesome. Power couple interview with so much valuable information! Thanks for providing this ..... I am struggling a bit trying to wrap my head around what gives an essentially unlimited pool of ico’s in the form of SMTs real world value. I understand the reasons given but it seems like there is such low effort required to create its hard to imagine why there is intrinsic value there. Not saying that there isnt or won’t be. Is it that the SMTs will be attaching to the underlying business which will either create or not create value? I suppose it will all makes sense once we see an actual use case in action. I am positive on SMT’s because I believe in the team behind them, I look forward to seeing the first real example..... Thanks so much you guys I loved this video! New spin off idea......The STEEM Power Couple Show!!!

Sort:  

Yeah, I totally agree with your assessment. Definitely is going to be interesting to see how the value holds. Another big component of that is going to be the automated market maker piece of the white paper that we didn't really get into, but basically the token creator sets up an escrow type fund that is used to give the SMT liquidity to the Steem market so that helps create the initial value of the token and sustain it in bigger use cases.

You can imagine a token launched by a major company with a well funded automated market maker fund establishing and maintaining it's value much better than a completely new token with very little funding to get started.

I think it would also help if the Steem token was more divisible which would allow for sub penny and beyond values for tokens, much like how a lot altcoins are only worth a few satoshi's. It's easier to imagine a lot of SMTs being worth 1/1000th of a penny then it is to imagine them all being worth at least 1/10 of a penny.

Also, I think it's much better to just keep it to the Steem Sisters, they're a lot easier on the eyes and more fun to watch! :)

Thats interesting. That does make sense to have a divisible coin like that in alignment with a micropayment \tipping scenario. This is something I am looking forward to seeing how it can be used on goldmoney.com. I have some ideas already but will need to see in real life first.Will be keeping a close eye on this..... ha ha don’t sell yourself short man that was a fun interview!

Hahha I LOVE the idea of the Steem Power Couple Show... but it sounds like he’s not into it. 😂

We’ll continue to bring more power couple content, even without the official title.

I'm my SMT project for example, the SMD you won will allow you to use it for buying partner products in our marketplace but also use them for helping a non profit organisation project also present in our marketplace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65