Sort:  

a post by bubke! i have to click on that even though i normally wouldn't read an article with that title :) haha! but i'm glad i did because the way you described it finally helped me understand SMT! omg! that's a big feat...

so sounds like there are incredible possibilities within that. the FUD around dan leaving and the fight with him and ned and possibility of competition makes steemit's future a little shaky, i agree. but it will be exciting to see if any of the evolutions you mentioned take place at all!!! i would love to see a trending page that we actually want to read that demonstrates the true value and diversity of what's on steemit..

glad to hear a little more about you, too. i didn't realize you and @eco-alex had lived in community together! I'd love to hear more about that sometime...

be well... and hopefully we'll have more Blockchain for dummies posts from bubke himself ;) ;) i think us non-developers need them (most of steemit lol) <3

Hey jewel, fast reaction. I suddenly saw i was on almost 1000 followers, i wanted pass that milestone in a good way :-)

Steem's future looks great and not so shaky, i actually powered up after looking into smt. SteemIt is just 1 interface to that most amazing blockchain Steem and now we will have many more so it's all great news really, it is healthy FUD :-)

Much love

good, looking forward to seeing what the healthy competition brings out for the steem blockchain! thanks. and congrats on the 1000 followers for your minimal posts & comments ;)
<3

There is a lot to be taken in from this one. I'll try to organize it a bit:

  1. The technical bottleneck. I'm a developer too and, from this position, I can tell you that nobody is irreplaceable. So, even if @dan left, that doesn't mean the STEEM blockchain will die. It may take a bit longer, we may hit some roadblocks, but it will survive. I also watch what @dan is doing with EOS and I think it has a lot of potential. What lacks in EOS, though, is exactly what's already in STEEM: adoption. There are hundreds of thousands of people already using STEEM.

  2. The suitability bottleneck. I like the idea of a SRT (Steem Reward Token) but I do think the processes involved are a bit more complex. The current SMT implementation is suitable for a specific set of processes, namely the ones involved when you publish and share content. Of course, you can still use this part in other processes, but that doesn't mean it will substitute it completely. I don't really see and WebMD on top of Steemit, but I can see an SMT measuring the engagement related to medical content.

  3. The scalability bottleneck. From all the potential problems, this is the most difficult to tackle. I ran a content node, I currently run a witness node and I know what it takes, from a hardware point of view. This thing is greedy. So, unless there is a fast and reliable sharding solution, one that will involve fragmentation of the blockchain in a way that it will make it affordable to run a block, Steem will either collapse or it will become badly centralized, in the same way ASIC hardware centralized the mining market. What I mean by that is that it will be extremely expensive to run a content node, with RAM requirements in the Terabyte range.

Other than that, SMTs are a huge development and as any disruptive development it can go extremely good or extremely bad. It's all about execution now.

Thanks so much man, comment truly appreciated as it throws great insights on to my freestyle thinking here. All valid points, time will tell, it is all so exciting.

I saw a fantastic 90 min interview of @Dan by IvanTech yesterday, i just love this guy, he is really pushing the possibilities and it will be all on github on 1st of June. Once it launches, it will be out of his control, crazy times, crazy projects, we are blessed.

xxx

My interpretation is that you have a reserved opinion about Steemit now compared to the glorious review we read months back(Correct me if I am wrong).

Of course, situations change everywhere for the better or worse.

Sorry, I missed the post till now - assumed you're not doing anymore.

Hey there :-) except for the little FUD fun, i am actually believing more in Steem as a blockchain with a great future thanks to the advent of SMT.

Steemit, i don't have to tell you, can be on some days the best thing ever and totally opposite on other days. Money makes everything ugly when it becomes first focus. Some other ideas will sprout out of SMT's and it might lead to some healthy adaptations in SteemIt as well, let's see, exciting times.
Much love

Your post helped me to understand a little better that which is way out of my remit!

Thanks :)

Exciting times ahead for the world for sure as technological advances match a slowly gathering mass awakening momentum.

Maybe the ordinary folk will be able to take back their power and shine bright again, on their own terms, as it sounds you and your family are surely doing.

xox

Thanks for this nice comment, i agree SMT is something else than a kitchen sink, it is what i am busy with now, what to do?, boys and toys! :-)

But for me it is mostly about what you are suggesting, giving back power to the ordinary people and see how i can help with my abilities.

Thanks, reading effort much appreciated.

thank you for your support today!! appreciated!.

Welcome :-). I just stopped a 5K delegation, better support in 7 days :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome review.

I disagree with the statement about the website. We don't need steemit.com, we can build our own interface. If the website is hacked and can't be repaired we just move on. Apps are becoming a part of the past with ever-evolving web app technologies. The progressive web apps thin out the line between an app and a website. Plus, an app is just as unsecure.

In my mind, it is only important that we have our financial transactions and posts on a secure blockchain. That's the immutability and security part of things.

I agree with you that without Dan the whole thing is an unlikely success, if that is what you were saying... Dan has shown himself to be a beast of a developer. For now, I am convinced that EOS will sweep both STEEM and SMT off the floor and build a skyscraper over it. I might be wrong, time will tell...

Awesome comment, thank you

A lot of sensitive content is published through SteemIt and DTube and my guess is they will try to stop that sooner or later. It will be easier to take some websites down than to forbid people using a software package.

I hope you are wrong with your statement on EOS for the simple reason i am heavily invested in Steem :-) but my reasoning is same so i better prepare, i only hope SMT's will be launched soon so i can step out with a nice return :-)

I like the term: decentralized social platform

Ha, i see you are like me, non-active for months and coming back alive :-)
A decentralized social platform is what Steem is all about, we just need to have some better decentralised distribution and if possible, a safe app replacing a website, SMT's might bring us just that.
Glad you liked it :-)

lol im glad there are ppl like your self to read a 50 pages long technical white paper 😂 still only getting a small grasp on it reading SMT for dummies, i hope it means more flexibility all round, i hope the future means more even distribution of wealth. Sounds like ur having a nice time by the sea must be a welcomed change :)

The sea is a welcome change, absolutely! We were actually on a holiday here and decided not to go back to our house, nothing beats the freedom to be able to take this instantaneous decisions, even when our children are now 11 and 14, the whole family in a new sudden adventure, beautiful.
Let's forget about these SMT's for now :-) Thanks for your comment, much love.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 46 SBD worth and should receive 94 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Good work. Thanks for sharing, hehe. You are awesome. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

You are spamming the same comment everywhere, don't spoil your 54 rep by possible downvotes

I tell people what I think. That is my free speech. It is not spam. But you say it is spam. You feel justified in your definition of what is spam and what is not spam. People see things differently as we have different opinions. There are many bots going around giving thousands of people canned messages. In life, we tend to ask people general questions offline as well. On television, they dumb us all down with so many idioms that are repeated. While in Vietnam in for 5 years, I talked thousands of Vietnamese about this. I am the Original Oatmeal for a reason.

My wise Bubke :)

I am here and there at the same time. These days I speak in moderation and act selflessly. At the same time, life twisted my path a little, so I need to readjust to a new reality. It's ok, I know I can do it but it will take a bit of time. I do what I love and I love what I do and that keeps me grounded.

I will be back. 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78