How to make a healthy smoothie at home

in #smoothie6 years ago

I think we all love smoothies, at least a significant amount of people on planet earth love to have smoothies. Smoothies are obviously a healthier option when compared many foods out there. However, some people are not making use of the complete benefits of smoothie. And some people include unhealthy items into the liquid, which results in not a good smoothie.

My suggestion in order to get a better healthier lifestyle is to have homemade smoothie, which has to be consumed in few minutes after preparation in order to get the complete benefits of it, than those you get in supermarket, which contains a massive amount of sugar. You can see whether sugar is added to the ingredients list. However, be sure that sugar can be added in many forms, some of which are corn syrup, words end with -tose and many.


Image Source

These are some ingredients you can add in order to make your smoothie even healthier.

Seeds for Omega 3 Fatty Acids

Adding seeds such as chia seeds or flax seeds to get a significant amount of omega 3 fatty acids is one thing which I follow every day. As I mentioned, I love to add ground flax seeds or chia seeds in my oatmeal. If I end up in eating any traditional dishes for breakfast, I put those things into my smoothie such that I get the required amount of omega 3 fatty acids. Since I am talking about smoothies, I am not mentioning the best source of omega 3 fatty acids, Salmon fish. If you are a vegetarian or vegan, you must consider eating this seeds on a daily basis.

Fruits beat Sugar

If you order a smoothie at a restaurant, you end up in getting it that contains sugar. Also, I have seen many people who add sugar to their smoothie to get a better taste. I agree that people who have sweet tooth cannot control over that, but making a habit of replacing sugar with fruits spur your health in long run. You could also use raw honey. Since sometimes we may unknowingly buy unhealthy honey, I prefer to use fruits to get a required sweet into my smoothie.

Green goes well

If you are a person just like me who do not like to have vegetables especially green leafy vegetables in salad, just add them to your smoothie. Trust me you will not taste a bit of it though you could see the green colour of it. I usually add organic baby spinach to my smoothies. I cannot say how healthy consuming green leafy vegetables are, I think you know well. So go for it, add some baby leaves of spinach, kale or any leaf into your smoothie and enjoy it.

Healthy Fats

Add a significant amount of healthy fats such as avocado and peanut butter to your smoothie. You need healthy fats which consist of unsaturated fats to function your heart properly and reduce the risk of heart diseases. If you are in a weight loss program, you could add a moderate amount of the ingredients without any worry as you need healthy fats to reduce your weight.
Adding this item to your smoothie will certainly give you a better health.

Sort:  

You are an excellent teacher. Thank you ver much for the useful contribution

I'm learning very useful information from you. You're perfect

Thank you for sharing. Just in time - right after the holidays (and overeating) season ^.^

You are very fantastic in making post, I am proud like you, you are very genius in making post, your post is very good and extraordinary.☑☑☑👍👍

I agree! I bought a Nutri Bullet and use it all the time!
Here's one of my favorite smoothie recipes:

1 Banana
4-5 Strawberries
Small Handful of Spinach
1 TBSP Hemp Seeds
1 TBSP Flax Seeds
1 TBSP Chia Seeds
3 Ice Cubes
1-2 Cups of Almond Milk
1 Scoop Pea Protein (Optional)

Blend up and enjoy! This smoothie has got tons of healthy proteins and fats, and well as being packed with micronutrients from all the ingredients!

wow, amazing tips. great.

🆕🆕 NEW ICO.. #LITECONNECT 🆕🆕
#Get_FREE 5 LCN again and again for every share your link....
=> 5 LCN : $ 100 target after ICO
STARTS ICO. 14 JAN'18
👉 JOIN link: https://goo.gl/xycGQ1

nicely posted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04