Quit smoking after more then 20 years!

in #smoking6 years ago

Yesterday I had an appointment at the hospital Radboud in Nijmegen, the Netherlands.
The message was loud and clear: "you'll have to stop smoking or you're gonna get a bypass churgery, or worsse: Loose your legs!"
That message hit me like a hammer! Now I looking for ways to quit this habbit and I came up with several things I can use.

First of all I only smoke on our terras, it's winter and cold so that will help me to smoke far more less then when I smoke in the house.
Then I did some math about the costs of smoking and it starteld me! It's a huge amount of money I'm blowing away!
I bought a mouthspray from Nicorette, damn! thaat stuff is dirty! Ever tried a cup of coffee after using that spray? You coeld use toiletspray as well.
So after a horrible cup of coffee I tried something else:

NLP, Neuro Linguistik Programming.
I imaged every time I inhale smoke that I sucked on the exhaust of my car. That's grosse, ain't it?
SO this dirty picture is in my mind now.
Another picture I made was that they really cut off my legs! An even more horrific picture!
For now these picures I made in my brain are enough. It's enough motivation for now, you don't need to overdue it because my mind will have to know what I do want and not what I won't.

There has to be a balance in good and bad pictures, so I made a few other picures in my mind that are positive.
I saw myself walking in the mountains again, and having a good health! You know, smiling and having fun on a summers day.

I used EFT, Emotional Freedom Technique, every time I crving for a smoke.
I tapped with the following sentences:

Altough I would like a smoke, I accept myself, I'm strong enough to overcome this.
I want to be healthy, I don't need tobacco to feel good.

I must say that after one round of tapping the desire to smoke dropped from 9 to 6!
So I tapped another round and the craving dropped to 3.
That's a figure I can handle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66544.05
ETH 3487.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72