The Aesthetic of Smoking| P I: Self-Indulgence

in #smoking7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3317.jpg

In the entire history of mankind there is perhaps no other item comparable to cigarettes, that has sold individualism, so successfully, and, with the least amount of irony, to the masses. Even if we count that success as a mere marketing technicality: it is still a curious question as to whether or not smoking also actually delivers individualism as a practical effect. If one can make something as general as smoking ones own...

Personally, I think it does, but such a deep question nevertheless requires some teasing out: In future posts I’ll do just that. I'll be exploring the history of smoking, including many cultural and generational shifts within the 20th & 21st century ; representation of smoking in art and media; and, more curiously, I’ll be creating an interactive quiz - at the very end - that will: at the very least leave you asking some curious questions, and, at the very most - convinced.

But, today, doubling as my formal introduction to the steemit community, I will briefly be introducing the aesthetics of smoking - by relating it to my art and personal life.
24122017_steemit intro.jpg
Hello from Charles Harry Mackenzie & Hunter S. Thompson (smoker extraordinaire)
20171224-24122017_steemitpost1.jpg
My tattoo of....Guess Who?

Even before I myself was a smoker, and even much of a photographer mind you, I was photographing others(and even myself) smoking. In fact, I probably developed a smoking habit as a very result of this obsession. How's that for an addiction story?

But I guess, at least in general, that's the story of almost any serious smoker: nobody puts a gun to their head and tells them to start. Instead, the very opposite is true: the cigarette has us hooked way before we even have our first puff - in my case, in spite of my first puff! - hooked on the very sight of it. Feel of it. The way it dangles effortlessly from a pretty hand, the way it leaves somebody's mouth as if it has somewhere else important to go, the way it lends intensity to already captivating facial features & expressions; the way it seemingly enhances and magnifies somebody's personality; and, let's not forget, the poetic pause and contemplation it provides in-between long, often tangential, conversation... In other words, the key addicting feature to a cigarette... is not it's contents, but its aesthetic.

Or so I believe.

Or so I will aim to prove.

8059060221_e321ccee23_o.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Do you like this? Do you have any questions, comments or stories of your own? I would love interact!

©2017 Charles Harry Mackenzie. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @charlesmackenzie, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

In the entire history of mankind there is perhaps no other item comparable to cigarettes, that has managed to get people to pay for getting poisoned + a chance to get killed.

How about alcohol?
Drugs?
Exposure to dangerous chemicals, either by primary or secondary means: i.e mercury ?

Not that I'm directly equivocating, only I mean to say: what point are you making that hasn't already been made a dozen times and for dozens of years? The knowledge that cigarettes are unhealthy, and have numerable risks, is about accessible as google itself.

The point of this essay/series, is to critically understand the appeal of cigarettes - especially considering all the aforementioned risks. If there were no risks, cigarettes would most likely be of no interest to understand....

Congratulations @charlesmackenzie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Saw your reply on one of my posts, figured I'd give you a response here for more comment clout. Adding a tag really isn't gaming the system, unfortunately when larger people on this platform (ie higher rep) feel personally offended, they'll use their influence to attempt to take down posts they don't agree with. Shame, but that's the way she goes

Jeez. I'd like to say that that shocks me, but frankly I'm not surprised.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @charlesmackenzie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82