You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rare Smoking Pipes - Silver Mounted Peterson Meerschaum - SmokeWithMe Collection Recollections

in #smokewithme7 years ago

Great post! I am an occasional pipe smoker, it's good to have an expert to turn too. I recently picked up 3 estate pipes at a hobby shop for $6 each, one was a meerschaum. I will take pics of them later and see what you think!

Sort:  

Thanks @gregm - that means a lot. I can't wait to see the picture of your pipes - whatever they are, $6 is a great deal. And I'd be happy to answer any pipe questions.

Hey @winstonalden.., here is a couple pics of the two I kept, I gave one to my oldest son, that one is a Brumfit De-luxe.

Comoys are a great mid-range pipe. Not "collectible" per-se but great smokers.

The other one looks like a Kaywoodie meerschaum - that is uncommon. Kaywoodie used to be considered a cheap "drug-store pipe." But all of a sudden everyone's collecting them. The club even put together an expedition to go to a Kaywoodie show two states over.

At first I assumed that was a briar that had just been painted white - but the chip on the bowl and the gradual coloring indicated otherwise. A google search tells me they do indeed make meerschaum.

Could be a great everyday smoker, right there.

Thanks for the info @winstonalden. Yes it is indeed meerschaum, I can put a mark in it with my fingernail pretty easily. I am going to load that one next and try it out, they all needed a good cleaning.

I do like my comoy, it smokes nice and has a great cake buildup, may keep me from always picking my corncob.

Any info on the Brumfit De-luxe?

Cheers!

I'm not familiar with them, but it looks like they're a Scottish made pipe probably in the same range of Comoys for quality. Interesting thing there is all the pipes on that website and most of the ones on eBay are all shipping out of the UK, so they must not have a US importer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39