Rise And Rise Of The STEEM Clones (Smoke.io Launches Mainnet)

in #smoke6 years ago

steem-clone.png
We already covered WEKU and WhaleShares and today I checked in to see if Smoke.io ever got launched and it turns out it launched today. The clone wars are in full swing! Now if you are trying to set up an account you can go through the signup area but it will want to try to text you a confirmation code which is annoying. It ended up working when I sent it to a Google voice number which usually doesn't work with those. I still have to wait for manual approval and I don't know how long that will take ultimately.

I like the way the layout is on there a little better than Steemit.com. A lot of the design elements are the same once you get into the posts but I like it a little better from just the way the fonts and color format is.

Ultimately it will be interesting if these niche platforms that have cloned the STEEM codebase will grow into something successful. With Canada legalizing pot and more and more states in the United States legalizing it there could be a chance for this to succeed where this subject matter was sporadically supported on STEEM.

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Hey Brotha, don't you have a referral link to sign up under for Smoke ?

It sounds good so I will sign up. Thanks for the heads up.

It doesn't look like there are any referral links for Smoke.

I think Steemit should have to increase the rewards in order to stunt the growth of these clones.

The other day after seeing your post I went to signup for one of them and it told me I couldn't because I didn't have tokens or hadn't been invited or something, I honestly don't recall which platform but anyhow it wouldn't let me signup.

In the past I'd tried Minds and some other crypto blogging platform where you'd write a post and make it partially free and then put up a paywall. Both seemed to have little activity and just didn't strike me as being worth my time.

I oftentimes try to become an early adopter of platforms in the hopes of striking it big if they take off but having been through a few flops like VidMe and Meercat and others I'm a bit more hesitant to try new stuff.

Also Steemit already has a community and built the community during good times. It seems many people just don't care about crypto anymore so I have a feeling it may be tougher to grow a userbase today than it would have been in 2017

The communities will certainly on ramp more people when crypto prices are surging. It was kind of sad what happened to Parascope and Meercat. Sometimes being first is like been a lead blocker and you don't get the glory of the touchdown.

If steemit ever delivers on the community promise, it could make all these clones obsolete. Depending on how much spam, plagiarism and garbage posts the clones have they could actually help steem rise even more.

I can see a few different scenarios with the clones. I get what you are saying but in the end even if someone decides to use an SMT to fund their project there is still an issue with having to buy into a currency that is heavily held by a few vs taking control of your own currency and controlling a big chunk off the bat.

It made sense that VIT and Smoke didn't wait for SMTs in my opinion because it is hard telling when it will come out and they are in control of the supply and the initial distribution setup.

I don't know if it will make them obsolete though because if they get footing it can become its own thing.

I could see those others being something like what Peercoin is to Bitcoin. The value may not be as high, but if you get in early you might have quite a bit more.

Okay, I saw weed leaves and was sold, but quick question, what the heck is smoke.io all about? I just checked it out, I havn't read the white paper but is it basically a Steemit just all about weed? While I love weed related stuff lol, I wonder if it's too limited. Heck Steemit which is about everything is still somewhat limited in content and now we have a Steemit that's just weed 24/7, almost seems too much. I love forums and platforms and interacting but when you start getting so niche then I'm having to visit one site just to talk about weed and another to talk about baseball. What I kind of like about Steemit, Reddit, etc I can make friends and be part of a community but also engage in various subject matters.

Yeah it is mainly cannabis stuff. I feel like it might not get too limited because people will feel like they can go into more depth on things.

I signed up waiting on my approval. Kinda cool google voice works for signups I hate that so many things google voice doesn't work for anymore.

Yeah.... unfortunately it doesn't work for Craigslist accounts and stuff like that. They can usually tell it is a voip number somehow.

I don't know how much weed content someone could produce to make it worth their while unless it was pushing some cannibis business content. Imagine getting high everytime you want to post, can't imagine content would be as engaging unless im also high. hmmm

I think i'd just vape and fake it lol

Hahah, Yeah I get what you are saying but in the end I think the industry is going to get so big that I could see a lot of businesses promoting on there and providing growing advice...etc.

I mean between memes, growing advice, and testimonials about different strains.....etc I think there could be a lot of content.

Plus it really just comes down to the price of the crypto and how many people are sharing the reward pool .

If the price of the crypto surges after some people find out about it and try to become whales and there are only really 100 people on there with accounts it could end up being lucrative.

All profitability will work its way to Zero but if someone plays it right they could snag a fat stack of coins on a bunch of these platforms.

Here is my strategy. I feel like most clones will only become 1/4th as successful as STEEM unless they do something super innovative.

I'm going to be on all the networks putting up content, upvoting, commenting....etc.

I couldn't get it to work...

have you tried GAB?

https://gab.com/frot

Hahah, I just saw your about section!

"The Muslims first invented the condom in the year 654 using a goat intestine. Christians expanded on this idea in 1364 by taking the intestine out of the goat first."

Hhhahahhaha

I just got in. I didn't have to wait long for them to pass the e-mail through.

I checked out Gab a year ago but they don't have crypto payouts enabled do they? mainly just a more open Twitter?

They only have payouts if you have a pro account - but that costs $5.99 a month.

It does look like a potential replacement for censored Twitter

It is an interesting premise and I was talking to someone from Block One when I was in Australia and he brought up an important point. The whole premise of someone getting kicked off of the major social media platforms is a super small percentage of the users on those platforms. I don't like the premise of just being kicked off and like the idea of true ownership of the account with STEEM and true ownership of the wallet. But I noticed when I got on Mines.com that there were a lot of conspiracy theorist type content and the mass majority of people will feel weird seeing that as 80% of the content so to me it is hard for that type of platform to gain mass traction.

They would be so much better off running this on STEEM SMT..

Problem is SMTs don't exist yet. It could be another 6 months until those are out and in crypto 6 months is an eternity.

Airdrop some erc20 tokens to steemians...like many other apps have done and we are off to races..

At this point building a chain for one particular vertical (smoke) seems unproductive. ..not enough people on main chain (steem) so imagine how a smaller sub set would look like..

What these STEEM clones should have done is do what Golos did except without a stake weight that was uneven. To where you would get your same account on these new networks but with an equal airdrop....etc.

I feel like a lot of things don't work on STEEM because people feel like the content is overlooked and the distribution was messed up.

Like different communities have had a hard time really building out. It is hard to really find people with your same interest....etc.

The concept that the entire thing is going to be cannabis related will automatically put everyone in a situation where they have a similar interest.

I'm more of an outsider who just wants to be on every DPOS chain taking what I already know and capitalizing.

To where you would get your same account on these new networks but with an equal airdrop.

Its give and take..they gotta give something to token holders ..agreed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82