"Bossa Doce" by Nowhere Near (Latin Jazz with lite Electronica streaming mp3)

in #smlchallenge6 years ago

thumb16x9.jpg

One Media® presents "Bossa Doce" by Nowhere Near (Latin Jazz with lite Electronica streaming mp3)

"Bossa Doce"


Latin Jazz Samba Bossa Nova with a touch of electronica

One Media® humbly offers a Bossa Nova for a Steemit Music League #smlchallenge season two, round eight (S2:R8) entry in a Latin Music theme...

Recorded April 15 through 17, 2018, Bossa Doce pays tribute to the Bossa Nova movement and particularly to the arrangements of the compositions by the Samba master Antonio Carlos Jobim. A tenor saxophone solo in this tune further acknowledges the recordings of Jobim's music that included Stan Getz. The theme alludes to feeling the sweet essence of Bossa Nova, especially the way Jobim and João Gilberto created it.

In this 32 bar ABAB song form, many of the composition devices that Jobim used were likewise implemented. Melody and harmonies based on the upper partials, particularly the ninth, and the flatted ninth, descending chromatic progression, circle of fourths and tritone substitution, all of which exhibit representations of modern Jazz, and Jobim himself had brought to Brazilian traditions. In doing so, Jobim both extended modern Jazz into Latin America as well as bring the highly syncopated rhythms of Brazilian folk music into Jazz and the rest of the world.

The tune opens with a melody played gently on an acoustic guitar patch, the guitar chosen to suggest the guitar Samba and Bossa Nova recordings of João Gilberto. Shakers, agogô, cabasa, bongo and conga drum sample patches were used to portray a typical Latin percussion section. A small string orchestra patch was also recorded to 'sweeten' the sound typical of the effect many producers in the late 1950's through early 1960's went after. Also for sweetener, the composer here added just a touch of pink sound filter-modulating synchronously to the eighth note beat, mainly to appease the craving for electronica that he and so many of his cohorts in the Steemit Music League have. The melody and all the aforementioned accompaniment go toward the gratitude the composer has for the sweet sound of the Bossa Nova.




Happy listening!
Zig


©2018 One Media®

Sort:  

Another memorable journey. Dreamy and fleeting, cactus time for sure. And siesta. Great job, I love it!

Thank you my friend. Yes I live near the cacti myself but unfortunately don't get as many siestas as I would like ;-) ... This tune was actually inspired by something somewhere a bit further south, the Portuguese speaking side of Latin American, somewhere between a bustling metropolis and a cool rain forest...

I love this Zig!!
How you always create a fusion & make it your own style is amazing, it's what makes me admire you so much.
I really would like to see a making of someday, or better be in the studio with you & watch you do your magic.
Love the story you tell with this piece <3
Thank you <3

Wow thank you! A 'making of' ... I dunno, I remember back in the days of renting DVD's, those stars could get pretty pompous in those 'Bonus Material' sections of the disc ... ;-) I'll need to work on that a bit. I tell you what, first chance I get to go to the continent, for sure your side is where I'll stop ! Would love to let loose in youse guys' studio!

Somehow this has turned out to be a pretty trippy track! And it works really well. Great explanation of the tools and harmonies used; it will probably take a few more listens to be able to find them all within the track...

I think the Bossa Nova beat is a bit of a trip ... so syncopated, most of its beats land on the 'and' of the eighth note rhythm ... So anticipatory, pulls you in that way ...

Depends on how well familiar you are with Jobim's music ... I think his tune 'Meditation' kept popping up into my consciousness, 'ear worm'. While I was trying to not directly model that tune, just some of the chord progressions are reminiscent of that tune ... Thanks for listening and commenting!

Yeah the beat is definitely a bit of a trip...I'm quite a fan of 'different' drum patterns. I try to incorporate experimental drums into my tracks as well at times. Hmm I'm not familiar with that tune but I will definitely look it up!

Well since you asked ... gladly looked it up for you. Now that ear worm's going to take permanent residence in my head!

I hear muted rimshots on (over every two measures) 1, and(3), 4, 2, and(4) ... and1 and 3 is in there too(bass)... that's the Bossa beat ...

Decending chromatic rhythm ...

Oh here's one with Astrud Gilberto, her voice absolutely slays me!

studio version of her, oh man!!!

Thanks for looking them up, yeah I hear that Bossa beat clearly. And you're right...that really is quite the voice! I think I'll have to listen to more of her now...no choice...

Oh yeah, she'll steal your heart if you let her!

O myyyyy what an absolutely uplifting tune.

Love how serene and meditative the beginning is with that acoustic guitar and shakers.

And that sax around 1:14 yessssssssss hit the soul o myyy yesssss. So beautiful. And takes that Latin flair to the next level.

This is such an easy to listen to and put on repeat song to raise ones vibrations. And with such a musical history attached to it.

You filled me with such positivity with this tune and the knowledge you shared is absolutely incredible. I learn so much from you and I can't thank you enough for your dedication to your craft and passing on your wisdom.

Much love and respect.

Thank you my friend! I am always so happy to hear how inspiring my entries are and am inspired by your replies to them!

I appreciate your comment about the feeling of wanting to 'put on repeat' ... Of course, when mixing down that's a necessity, and I often wonder if the listener gets that urge to, or absolutely would need to just to get an appreciation for what's going on in the tune. I deeply appreciate your affirmation of the favorable aspect of that draw!

Absolutely my friend teamwork makes the dream work :)

And you're very welcome. It's a blessing to be able to listen to your tunes.

Wow, thanks! I feel grateful for having the time to make these tunes! Have a great weekend!

O weeeeeeeeee. Gotta love how the Universe works. Thank you, you as well.

this is smooth and pimpy. i dig it!!

Oh yeah, the whole Bossa Nova movement was so pimpin' now that you mention it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by onemedia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

man what a trippy song you got there! I love the intricate grooves you put out there and also the catchy melodies <3

Thanks, my friend! Glad you gave it a listen and found some of the 'hidden treasure' in it. Have a great weekend!

you to my friend! hope to speak to you again on the SMA radio show...I've been really busy lately so couldn't get to the show for the past 2 weeks I think

Oh yeah, I did miss you too, this week, and if it's actually been two weeks, well, that's just how busy life could get ! I certainly do look forward to the next time we chat there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78