Mormons & Scientologists

in #smith5 years ago

• • MarvelousExodus • 1d
So my family will all be together after we die even though we're not sealed because we're all pretty good? Then what's the point of sealing?

6
• • • BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
It isn't up to me. The first step would be to get baptized.

1
• • • •Continue Thread
JamesOfLight • 1d
There are 3 kingdoms AND outer darkness. Outer darkness is not an easily attainable place to go

6
• BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
You really need to dislike Jesus to go there is also what I have heard.

-1
• • JamesOfLight • 1d
We don’t know exactly how people go there. There will only be a handful of people to ever go there. Most everyone goes to one of the three kingdoms of glory

6
• • briantheunfazed • 1d
Good news then, because Mormon Jesus loves building malls and fighting against marriage equality. Mormon Jesus cares about if you drink coffee. Mormon Jesus had me covenant to obey god, and had my wife covenant to obey me. Mormon Jesus was okay with polygamy, the Mountain Meadows massacre, and keeping black people out of heaven.

Mormon Jesus and I don’t get along.

4
• • • SmashingLumpkins • 1d
Meh I think your just taking the typical Mormon doctrine stuff out of context. Jesus didn’t say that you can’t drink coffee, it was Joseph Smith talking about the word of wisdom. (A set of guidelines for living a healthy lifestyle) The reason you shouldn’t drink coffee is because you become addicted to caffeine and Mormons believe your body is a temple and that you shouldn’t abuse substances.

-1
• • • •Continue Thread
• • • BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
People of African decent will be in Heaven if you end up there. The Mountain Massacre was really terrible.

You understand I never owned slaves, mistreated anyone because of their race and that Mormons are embarrassed about the massacre, right?

-1
• • • •Continue Thread
SmashingLumpkins • 1d
Outer darkness is specifically for those that have actually spoken with god and know he is real, but then choose to deny him. There’s only one person in LDS history who was sent to outer darkness.

1
dthgrpss • 20h
I’m not Mormon (or religious at all) but I grew up around A LOT of Mormons and my best friend is LDS. I don’t know if all Mormons believe this or if my friends are just super open minded, but they all believe as long as you aren’t a super shitty person you go to one of the heavens. I asked what they though would happen to an atheist like me, and they said since I at least search for the truth I would be fine. It’s cool I guess, but I still disagree with a LOT (read: most) of Mormonism. (Now that I’ve typed this all out I’m not sure it’s relevant, but here you go lol)

1
JamesOfLight • 2d
It’s a copy paste of LDS.org. No indication that you were pointing what you just said in your original post. Nor did you establish in your post why you believe that Scientology takes away the free will of people

8
TheFBOMod - Chaotic Neutral, Ex-Sea Org, Ex-Staff • 1d
Jesus? Aren't you old enough to stop believing in fairy tales?

8
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
You don't believe anything you don't see after the heart break of discovering your parents lied to you about Santa, huh?

1
TheFBOMod - Chaotic Neutral, Ex-Sea Org, Ex-Staff • 1d
I was raised Jewish and didn't grow up with Santa.

10
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
Then I bet you will decide to not lie to your kids.

-2
TheFBOMod - Chaotic Neutral, Ex-Sea Org, Ex-Staff • 1d
My wife and I talked about whether to have a concept of Santa in our home. We have agreed to strike a middle ground in which we won't say there is NO Santa, but also not to make a fuss about him coming to our house.

That said, I think there is a difference between creating a magical experience for your children vs lying to them. Nobody expects their children to spend their entire lives believing in Santa, and while there is an aspect to santa that incentivizes kids to be well-behaved, I can't imagine any parent actually putting coal in their kids' stockings.

Now God is a different story. My children will know that not everybody believes in god, and that I especially don't. I have a lot of strong opinions about Christianity, especially American Christians, and my kids will know exactly how I feel as they get old enough to talk to about this sort of thing.

3
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
A fake magical experience isn't worth more than coal. Coal can be sold. Dan Carmichael at Narconon Fresh would make a case that a lie can be sold. But that is neither here nor there.

1
SmashingLumpkins • 1d
Lies can be sold, look who the president is.

2
briantheunfazed • 1d
I’m sorry you got away from Scientology just to get pulled into another high-demand religion. The two religions are very similar. Reading your responses here, you have a lot to learn about Mormon history. Your lack of knowledge on the subject is glaringly obvious.

6
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
What do you believe in?

-1
briantheunfazed • 1d
Being good to yourself and others. Living this life well because it’s all we get. Doing what is right for you, because everybody is different. Not trying to make everyone else belief or live the way you do.

7
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
You have experienced Earth life. But I don't think you can be certain as to what happens after you die quite yet.

-1
briantheunfazed • 1d
Neither can you.

8
BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
I will bet we get judged for our actions, which is why I am very interested in the 10 Commandments.

-2
homesteadfoxbird • 1d
We won’t be judged by our actions, we won’t be judged at all. Unconditional love and judgement cannot coexist. You have one life (that you know of) to live. Are you going to use it following the rules of sexual predators and power mongers? Or are you going to follow the only principle in this world that matters: love. Lead with love, show people compassion. Become a true window to all the beauty, abundance and love that God has given to us. The love that flows through your veins and makes up every atom that has ever existed. Love. That is all that is needed. Overcome your pain and suffering with love. Use your access to all this healing power to help heal others of their pain and suffering. Is there any more noble cause? As I have loved you, love one another. All these rules and laws and commandments will not ease your suffering, they will only cause you to create destructive habits which beget more destruction, pain, and suffering. Stop the cycle. Free your mind. Live with love and compassion.

5
briantheunfazed • 1d
And I bet our actions have real consequences in this life. That’s why I left the Mormon church. And the point of all this is that going from Scientology to Mormonism is just a step from one high-demand religion with verifiably false truth claims to another one.

5
• BrianBizTexasDeclared SP • 1d
Everyone I met at Narconon was miserable and controlling. Everyone I meet at church is kind, generous, and law abiding. The contrast is beyond explanation. I was miserable at Narconon. I feel awesome in church.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02