Second Anniversary on Steem

in #smartsteem5 years ago (edited)

vm4ykj.jpg Image created on Canva

First of all, A very Happy New Year to all. Here's wishing you a great year in 2020! And may it be a better year than last year.

So, two years ago, on this day, I posted my first post on Steem. I joined on the recommendation of my friend @sinlg. I did not know anything about cryptocurreny then, and I hadn’t a clue how Steem works. ‘Post and get paid’, was what he told me.

Slowly, I learn what Steem is all about - what is the right thing to do, what is not. Two years later, I am still here. I am still posting. It has been quite a journey - an enjoyable one no less. I have enjoyed posting, and interacting with my fellow Steemians, and collecting some Steem tokens along the way.

In my first year, I managed 100 Steem Power. Today, I am up to 1,045 SP. So, I guess it has been a ‘good year’ on Steem for me. I am happy with what I have got. I am sure, I could have done better. But then again, it could have been a lot worse. Anyway...

Here is my take on Steem. Opening an account with steem is like taking out a piece of blank paper, and then putting your creative juices to work. You are sometimes pleasantly surprised, and sometimes disappointed, by the reception of your work. But that is Steem. You shouldn’t let that get to you. It’s nothing personal. Brush it off, and keep producing, and keep creating. Keep your creative juices flowing. Sooner or later, your works will find an audience.

Meanwhile, believe in yourself and plod on. See what others on Steem are doing. Learn from them. Ignore the noises, the negative opinions of the platform. Do what you enjoy, and enjoy what you are doing, so that even if at the end of the day, your efforts didn't amount to much, at least you can take comfort that you had fun creating. You will have enjoyed the process.

You might think it is time wasted, but let me assure you, your time is not wasted. You had fun creating, and you have honed your skills in whatever you were creating. That is why I stress that you should enjoy what you are doing. Do what you enjoy.

If you have doubts about the platform, it is good to do it on a part-time basis, instead of going in full time. In this way, even if Steem doesn’t work out, at least you have a regular income.

There are many ways, channels to succeed on Steem - if you are industrious, and if you believe in Steem. There are many communities, tribes, tags you can follow and be a part of, or you can just go about it your way, like me. Do what you enjoy, what you like. See what works, what give you most pleasure.

You are the creator, the artist, and Steem is the canvas. Do as you please - within the Steem guidelines, of course. Best wishes to all new comers. See you around.

zp7lyb.png

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow me if you like to read about Life, humour and quotes.
Cheers!

Previous post:

Out With The Old, In With The New

Sort:  

Congrats on two years! It's been nice getting to know you a bit and chatting here and there. :) You have shared a lot of good quotes and info since I've met you in general and some good advice here as well, your content is appreciated and I wish you the best into the future! :D

Thank you for your kind words @apolymask. They mean a lot to me and it is much appreciated.

Likewise, it is nice to know you. And I have enjoyed reading your views and opinions.

Best wishes to you, and I hope 2020 will be a great year for you! Cheers!😊

Congratulations @quotes-haven! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you @steemitboard

You're welcome @quotes-haven
The entire Steemiboard team wishes you all the best for 2020! Have a Happy New Year ✨🥂✨

!trdo doing well.. keep it up...

Congratulations @sinlg, you successfuly trended the post shared by @quotes-haven!
@quotes-haven will receive 0.00224775 TRDO & @sinlg will get 0.00149850 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

🙏 👍 😊

🎁 Hi @quotes-haven! You have received 0.5 SBD tip from @kunschj!

@kunschj wrote lately about: To Be A Kid ~ A Monomad Post Feel free to follow @kunschj if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hey, Vincent.

Congratulations on another year on STEEM. Good advice for all of us, too. :)

Plod on!

Thank you Glen! Cheers! 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations @quotes-haven, your post successfully recieved 0.00224775 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@sinlg earned : 0.0014985 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congrats on 2 years, my friend! Happy Steemversary!
!Trdo
!Tip

Thank you Melinda. And thanks for the tip. Not expected, but appreciated. 😊

🎁 Hi @quotes-haven! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: At The Aquarium Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Happy Steemit birthday Vincent. !tip 0.5

Thank you Jon - and for the tip. You are too kind. 😊 I invested in 5 sbi today, and I named you for the share. It might take a day or two for them to come through. Do let me know if they didn't. Cheers!

Thanks so much for the kind gift, Vincent. I really appreciate it. Happy New Year!

You are very welcome. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32