#smartphotocontest Pets and Photography

in #smartphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Firstly, I want to thank @smartphoto for hosting this competition!

I talk a lot about my dogs, mainly about Bulldogs because I am heavily invested in improving the health of the breed.

But for this contest, I wanted to show my gorgeous old girl, Rusty! She is a 13 year old Cocker Spaniel. I saved her from a puppy farm when she was only 8 weeks old (if that).

She is completely deaf as she has suffered her whole life with ear infections and they had to remove her ear canal as the antibiotics just didn't work and her ear canal collapsed.

She also suffers with stomach issues and allergies, so I have to be very careful that she doesn't get hold of human food or treats from strangers, or it can cause her to be extremely ill, which is not good at her age!

rusty2.JPG

Despite her age and her previous health issues, she is such a beautiful girl. She bosses all of the other dogs around, even though she is the smallest! hehe

She has also featured in @meesterboom's stories, then she pops along to tell him off, as quite often, the spaniels are doing something rather unsavoury! ;)

She is my one and only Spaniel, and I love her to pieces!

Thank you for visiting my blog, please wish both myself and Rusty good luck in the competition! If she wins, she has decided to spend her winnings on a hypoallergenic yaks milk dog chew! :)

Much love, @beautifulbullies xx

Sort:  

I once knew a deaf dog who would make grunting noises everywhere he went as like a sonar to detect objects in his way. It was really amazing to watch him do his thing! Got around as well as the rest of the dogs in the pack.

I have an older dog, too. 13 years....sigh...

They find there way around once they adapt, they are very clever :) She is a little bit nervous around other dogs if they sneak up on her in case they attack her (she has been attacked a few times by stranger's dogs) but she has never bitten another dog. she is a gentle soul bless her :)

Oh she is so cute and love your story about her;)

Oh my gosh, what a special relationship you must have with that girl! And how special to have been able to spend so many years with her after saving her. Rescue dogs are so special. My dog Baxter is also a rescue and I love him so much. I hope I get to spend as much time with him as you have your dog! How lucky are we to have them?

We are very lucky indeed! :) They offer up so much unconditional love and all we need to do for them is love them back :)

Yes! I really feel like my dog is my best friend, he gets me more than anyone else! They're such special family members!

She is beautiful. Her coat shines so much. She looks well taken care of.

Thank you. Yes she is a little bit spoilt ;)

If you can spoil them why not eh.

Still a looker for an old girl :)

Aw - so gorgeous. Dogs are the best. We have two - a Basset Hound and an Akita. They make my life so much better with all that unconditional love.

They certainly do! I would be lost without my dogs :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T17:09:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 704.15/200.00
Total Photos: 108
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74