"Run, Forrest, run!"

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

No Robert. I'm not insane. It helps me run as fast as Forrest Gump.

I use it all the time. It helps me make pictures when I'm running. Then I share them on Facebook and check for comments and likes each 5 minutes.

It works like magic. The more I share, the faster I am... or the faster I pretend I am.

IMG-20180125-WA0095.jpg

5 MONTHS LATER

My name is Malcolm Vayn and I'm 24. I was addicted to modern devices for the last 5 years...

... but not anymore. Thanks to the (IAA) Internet Addicted Anonymous circle I learned to control myself.

Here's my story.

I couldn't live without it. It was the main weapon I had to get in touch with friends. I couldn't see the reason to meet with people anymore. They were all in my pocket.

It was last December when I decided to accept my cousin's invitation for celebrating Christmas together. I have always been struggling to understand him. He's a homestead person. We've never had any quarrels as we've grown up together, but this time it went a bit different. It was Christmas Eve and as usual I was chatting with friends on Facebook. The poor Robert was talking to me and I was only replying with: Aha, ok, I agree, I see.

It was about an hour later. Robert spontaneously grabbed it from my hands and threw it against the wall with all the possible force he had. It touched the surface of the wall and broke into at many pieces.

-- Here's a better version, he said. And don't listen to anyone who says it's DUMB. It's a way SMARTER than you all think. Trust me. I wouldn't deceive you.

I was screaming like a child who's toy was taken. My hands began trembling and I had to go out and run, but this time for real, for myself. 3 hours later I arrived back at my cousin's smile on my face and warmy thanked him for the dumb one I got as a Christmas present.

Just to be on the safe side, I decided to join this circle and pass through all 7 stages.

Believe me. Right now., there's a monster living inside you.

That bastard is silently building a brick wall between you and everything that matters. That bastard's favorite tool is what all you have in your pockets. The strong weapon allowing you to reach any point of the world as a hidden poison that takes away the better version of you and put you into an invisible jail. Trust me! You are on the right path here.

Once you learn to control yourself, you'll then get back to your SMART ones much stronger. Until then though, you'll enjoy 5 months of technology free environment.

You'll learn cooking, learn growing flowers. You'll read books, walk in forest and on the beach.

You'll learn to observe yourself and this will end up into something you couldn't really imagine right now.

This is my submission for @svashta's Constrained Writing Contest #15

Sort:  

A real eye opener, this story.
Too much do we, modern humans, depend on technology to... amuse us. To downright give us all we want. Without ever trying and/or suffering.
My generation and younger (I'm 21) are suffering from this especially.
The older generation had some, what would you call it, old school teachings... real life experience of both bad, and good. And they had to work hard for everything they got. Us? We're practically given everything with a touch of an app. The rush of dopamine is always just a push of a button away.
There's no knowing where this will take us... But we'll eventually find out.

Although, there's something I need to tell you; you didn't write from the perspective of the inanimate object, but from the perspective of "it's human"..

Thank you very much for your entry ^^

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

I see........ the narrator should be the inanimate object... well, fine : )

Thank you for providing this insightful story! ;D

Most of the best fiction is based on truth. Topic is very pertinent. Nice job!

Very true. The smartphone is imprisoning many people nowadays. I know of people who can't survive 10 mins without looking at their phones. It's so bad when you are talking to someone and he's paying more attention to his phone than you. Glad you got rid of your addiction.

Well, it was originally written as a fiction but it partially applies to me as well.

If my internet goes out, I look around wondering what I should do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71238.01
ETH 3865.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51