Landscape of the Czech Republic: Silver Lake in Opava on a sunny fall day

Hi Steemers!

Today´s theme for the #smartphonephotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests is “reflection” so I decided to submit these two shots taken at the Silver Lake in my Czech hometown Opava.

IMG_20171017_111208.jpg

I really love hanging around this place but I should provide you with some information first as the name actually cannot be more misleading.

In fact, it is not a lake and it has nothing to do with silver :D It used to be a gypsum quarry that got flooded by the nearby River Opava in 1964. Gypsum is called “Sádrovec” in the Czech language so the colloquial name of the place “Sádrák” is actually more fitting than the official name.

IMG_20171017_111114.jpg

Soon after the quarry got filled with water, the place became a popular relaxation area for residents of the region and even international visitors from Poland as Opava is located very close to the Czech-Polish border.

The place gets very crowded in summer with up to thousands of people chilling out on the banks of the lake but if you come in low season, you will have this beautiful place pretty much just for yourself.

How about you, my Steemit fellows? Do you have your favorite getaway spot in your hometown? I would love to see it :)


Czech: Jedno z mých oblíbených míst u nás v Opavě. Stříbrné Jezero. Není to však jezero a se stříbrem taky nemá nic společného :D Je to zatopený sádrovcový lom. Místní ho hojně navštěvují hlavně v létě, kdy se na jeho březích tísní i tisíce lidí. Zato v ostatních ročních obdobích je tam většinou klid a pohoda. Máte-li také nějaké své přírodní místečko, kam si chodíte pročistit hlavu, budu rád, když se podělíte. Hezký víkend!

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

K odpočinku mi stačí vysoký les. Pokud chci ale opravdu relaxovat, přenesu se na tohle místo.
lip4.jpg
Na vrcholku skály se dokážu uvolnit nejvíce ;-)

Zajímavé místečko... prozradíš i lokaci nebo je to tajné? :)

Jeden opuštěný lom "kousek" od Opavy. Lipová - lázně ;-)

To jako fakt? Já myslel, že jsi Jihočech :))

Podle místních jsem náplava. Jinak su kratki zobak ;-)

Wow, It looks very cinematographic!

Please take and post more pics!!

Great pic. I love the colors! So stunning 💚💜💛

Sooo beautiful. I love all the pictures

Beautiful reflection and colors 👌

Thank you Rina, means a lot! I love the photos you submit in the contests held by Tomas ;)

Thank you @phortun im glad you like it . You have some great photos too! I follow you now & look forward to see more of your pics in the contests

Thank you so much for those nice words and the follow, I will keep an eye on your blog too ;) And congrats on winning the weekly round today! I help Tomas with organizing the contests a bit and I was happy to find out it was your shot that got the most upvotes the last week ;) Good luck in the monthly round! :)

This look beautiful, i will love to visit this place somedays

Amazong shot, the colors of the landscape perfectly contrast the sky and the water body. The trees vibrant color makes it more livelier and pleasing to the eyes.

thanks for this professional feedback! :) glad you like it

Beautiful colors, one of the best in contest in my opinion.

thanks! :)

V létě chodíváme do zatopeného lomu - pískovcového, ale mnohem menšího. Je tam tak max. 15 lidí, většinou jen my. :)

To musí být super, zatopené lomy jsou nej! :)) Kousek za Opavou je ještě jeden břidlicový s úplně průzračnou (ale studenou :D) vodou.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61