Sort:  

Many of our old rail lines have become bike trails in the summer and snowmobile trails in the winter. Seems like a good use for them.

It is a great way to get around the countryside. I'm going to take the bike next time I go there.

The topic of unused train lines is fascinating to me. There has always been something mysteriously engaging about abandoned industrial efforts. You have a great way of covering it with nice photos.

Thank you Joe, I agree there is something fascinating about these abandoned relics from the past.
Fortunes invested and lives changed by these developments and then just left to fall apart until nature reclaims it.

I remember that kind of crossing from my childhood. My Grandad used to take me all over the countryside and we encountered a similar-looking crossing plenty of times.

Thanks for reminding me.

Your Grandad had some smarts. These railway walks are nice and flat. Easy on the joints lol

That was a nice idea, converting an old railways into some other purpose. I commend your country for that. Here, from what I know, some old railways were abandoned and others became a slum area.

Most of these old industrial age relics were repurposed not by the government but by local people getting together as volunteers to clean them up and bring them back into use.

Looks like a great place for a walk and a nice day out

It just so peaceful to walk along the track. It's a bit like being in a very narrow forest ;)

Its nice to find calming spots like this isnt it

Sure is and there are plenty of them in this part of the country.

I guess its a similar idea to the highline here, but your one is more rural and beautiful in my mind

Thanks for bringing us along on this lovely walk of old and new :) My husband @joechiappetta and I love to find stuff like old railway lines. It's cool to see how nature reclaims her land after people leave.

It is amazing how fast nature takes over these spaces and the wildlife just move right in.
These old railways are natures new highways.

Well said! There was a dvd I watched years ago called "Life After People." All about nature taking things back over when humans leave. It was fascinating!

I wish they would make more of an effort here to bring fiber optic, or even cable in the rural areas.

It's a joke really that it hasn't been pushed out to the rural areas.

It's a bit of a scandal here in the UK and is always on the TV news!

I have never played a horse like you, may be happy to walk with horses @molometer

The horse has a mind of its own. lol

Beautiful Photography I hope you have a great day @molometer

It was a lovely sunny day, thank you.

horse is very happy once. if we berkililing pake horse. and I really like the horse. Your friend post @molometer for me is a very unusual post @molometer friend.

Thank you for your fascinating comment ;)

same friend good @molometer.dan i am also very grateful to you friend @molometer.karna sahabat @molometer has given good value for my comments. thanks again many friends @molometer.

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74