Tales of a restless suitcase #5: Surreal Shwedagon

in #smartphonephotography7 years ago (edited)

A last minute business trip gave me a chance to visit Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, the largest city of Myanmar. Until 2006, it was the capital of Myanmar until the military government moved it to Naypyidaw.

Yangon is home to the most beautiful pagoda my eyes have ever laid on. Housing a gilded stupa, Shwedagon Pagoda Complex, is the most sacred Buddhist worship site of the country. Swarm of Buddhist devotees have flocked to this famous place of worship since it was built in the 6th century.

This is my entry to #smartphonephotography contest hosted by @juliank
IMG_1800.JPG
Be sure to click the image to view fullscreen! ♥ Iphone 6+ | f/2.2 | 1/17sec |ISO-320 |

Shwedagon Pagoda is the most sacred Buddhist pagoda in Myanmar, as it is believed to contain relics of the four previous Buddhas of the present kalpa. These relics include the staff of Kakusandha, the water filter of Koṇāgamana, a piece of the robe of Kassapa, and eight strands of hair from the head of Gautama. Please follow this link for the source.

IMG_1743.JPG

Be sure to click the image to view fullscreen! ♥ Iphone 6+ | f/2.2 | 1/20sec |ISO-250 |

IMG_1796.JPG

Be sure to click the image to view fullscreen! ♥ Iphone 6+ | f/2.2 | 1/33sec |ISO-200 |

At the center of the complex is a massive 99 meter high gold plated pagoda. It is said that 7,000 diamonds make up the spire set on top. I was mesmerized. It was one of the most magical structure I have ever seen. Our tour guide also shared that the pagoda is visible in almost every part of Yangon. He likened it to a shimmering beacon that decorates Yangon's night sky. I witnessed it for myself later that night while having dinner.

IMG_1786.JPG

Be sure to click the image to view fullscreen! ♥ Iphone 6+ | f/2.2 | 1/33sec |ISO-200 |

Just a the sun had set over the horizon, the complex brought forth a mystical ambiance, as numerous spotlights set strategic places of the pagoda aglowed. The blend of prayer chants, solemn atmosphere, and aroma of candles and incense made the experience more surreal.

IMG_1797.JPG

Be sure to click the image to view fullscreen! ♥ Iphone 6+ | f/2.2 | 1/17sec |ISO-250 |

I made sure to take as much photo as my smartphone can. I was in such a hurry that I forgot to pack my camera. I was only given less than a week's notice to prepare for the trip. Worst is, the travel dates fell on my birthday. Secretly, I was quite upset about it at first. But then, life proved that it always has ways to turn things around. I was lucky to see the gorgeous landmark on an all expense paid business trip! In the end, I felt blessed and I learned a lot from the tour.

IMG_1790.JPG

By the way, my friend @wincee also shared an entry about Shwedagon Pagoda when she went on a solo backpacking trip to Myanmar (I know, she is so cool! I haven't tried solo backpacking!). You can check it out here.



Thank you for reading my blog! See you next time! :)


Sort:  

This is how to post an article . Thanks for photos too

Thank you for checking it out 😊 appreciate it 😉

Pretty incredible place!

Yes it really is :)

Thank you for sharing. I really believe in the law of attraction and really liked this line in your blog:

every second of our existence, we are acting as human magnets sending out our thoughts and emotions and attracting back more of what we have put out.

This is amazing.. the most unexpected trips gives those long lasting memories.

Yes! This trip is quite memorable for me. First time to spend my birthday with alone. Second, I got to visit Myanmar unexpectedly. Thank you for dropping by :)

sudden trips are always awesome , hope you've enjoyed well , praise for you photography for capturing such wonderful ones .

oh thank you for your kind words. it means so much to me. Yes, unplanned trips are awesome! :)

Great photos even with just using your iphone. I will be sharing my experience in the future post too.

By the way, Thank you for linking my blog.

you're welcome! would love for others to see the portait photo you took :)

A very good writer and photographer! Great job, Meme!

grabe guro dyud ang culture diha ba? hehe
you really have nice shots @memebibiboboo

wow so nice!

Nice photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64871.83
ETH 2536.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67