ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - The Vibrant Hibiscus

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

This is what we call gumamela here in the Philippines, but it is globally known as Hibiscus. It is an ornamental plant that comes in different colors, size of the buds, and even the petal patterns. When we talk about color, there are orange, yellow, white, pink, red, and other combinations. Other buds or flowers are so small and some are so big that could fit someone's palm. My mother really made it a habit to collect different types of gumamelas, that some just have single petals, double, or the bursting petals with the curly shape.

IMG_20180207_232927.jpg

Along with my childhood friends, we really loved to play "bahay kubo" or "play house" before, where I really like to be "always" playing the mother's role for I'll be the one to cook. And every time I think of cooking, I'll always go to my mother's garden secretly and pick some gumamela flowers. Do you know why? When you squeeze the petals, it produces a slimy liquid that I used as a substitute for cooking oil. Well, it's just an experiment you know.


IMG_20180207_233005.jpg

When I grew up, I'm so amazed at knowing that gumamela is not just a plant for decoration for it contains anti-infectious and anti-inflammatory medicinal benefits, following certain procedures. In our community, elders are being encouraged to plant more hibiscus for the petals can also be used for making "sweet jam". As a result, it can be seen that from its roots to the tip of its leaves are beneficial to man.


This will be my entry for today's #colorchallenge initiated by @juliank and @photocontests.

Sort:  

I love hibiscus

Beautiful!!!

thank you :) it's just next to yours :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51